Unboxing the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle NFT Funko Pops.

Yo! How goes it, you bunch of sweaty, crypto obsessed degenerates? Well, I finally received the physical products from the Funko NFT release that happened last August. If you're unfamiliar with Funko, they are a well known collectible toy company that has access to an insane amount of license's for their products. There's a big market for their products, with some of their very limited items going for tens of thousands of dollars. They've dipped their toes into the NFT world over the past 7-8 months, doing a handful of drops on the Wax blockchain and using atomichub for second market support. A big component of interest in these drops is that there are specific NFT's that are redeemable for a physical Funko Pop in the real world. These are the very first to start landing into peoples hands from several drops that happened. So, why don't we take a look at them?

There were 5 redeemable items you could get out of this drop, but, I only grabbed two back then. I wasn't sure how much money I wanted to sink into it, and only two of them really stuck out to me as something I would want in my collection. My main want was the Black Light Bebop, a well known villain character from the TMNT series. The black light variant of pops has been a hot commodity in the Funko community, there has been dozens of them released over the last 2 years with prices varying depending on the rarity/exclusivity of them, as well as the characters themselves. Considering that this is the very first black light NFT pop, it features a well liked/known character and it is limited to 1467 possible pieces (With only 1164 of those being actually redeemed. Meaning the rest of that 1467 is going to be destroyed). So, that was an easy cop for me. Especially since I'm a whore for the black light stuff. And, it was a smart choice to grab it when I did. Because this is going for $400-600 currently on the 2nd market. I think that price is going to stabilize and settle over the next 6 months at around $500, and will probably end up long term being a $600-700 pop in 1-2 years from now. Here's some quick photos of the bebop for those who want to see it close up.

The Front

The Back, featuring a preview of what the NFT token looks like.

Now the other physical product I got I can't really say I'm very happy with, in fact, it really makes me have a floppy penis. You can even probably tell something isn't quite right when comparing the image on the box with what the actual pop looks like in the box. This Leonardo pop was the "grail" pop from the drop, with only 999 available (And, only 910 were redeemed and made, the rest will be destroyed). It was supposed to have an iridescent paint job that gave it a unique thermal look, which some people weren't a fan of. But, I thought it looked fairly alright and with it being so limited I figured I'd give it a try and grab one. Well, turns out instead it looks like a fruit roll up that a homeless man fell asleep on and it melted.

The Front

The Back of this crusty fucking thing.

Yeah, I'm not a fan of this and think it was a huge let down. There is still quite a bit of hype around this piece, as it has been selling for $600-800 on Ebay. I'm not really sure where the price is going to fall with this one, it is very limited and features a very popular character from a very popular franchise. But, at the same time it looks like ass, at least to me. (There are some people who are still a fan of this things looks somehow.) I don't think it will drop too much lower with how limited it is, and it will probably even out and settle as a $600 or so dollar pop. But, I'll probably be looking to sell this off sooner than later, I think I would rather grab some other pops I've been wanting for my collection that don't make me feel embarrassed to have on display.

Anyways, that's gonna do it for this post. I'll have another unboxing video with the Iron Maiden Funko Pops sometime in late May, and those are ones where I'm really curious to see what happens with the second market. But, yeah.

Until next time, doods! Later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54