Let's All Steem On: Phillip Afa, Freelance Copywriter

in #hot7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit and my fellow Steemians,

My name is Phillip Afa from Lagos, Nigeria.... This is my introductory post.

I am a marketing and ad writing professional who has been into working on a lot of stuff online for the last 3-4 years such as...

Copywriting| Newspaper Ads, Emails, Postcards and Direct Response Mailing materials.
• Website Design
Logo Design and Branding
• Scriptwriting| Video ads, Radio Ads, Whiteboard and Spokesperson Videos etc.
Digital Marketing Plan Management.
• Article / Press Release Writing and submission.

IMG_20180202_155321.jpg

brand pic.png

IMG_20180202_154043.jpg

I joined Steemit primarily to learn a lot of things about other people, other cultures, their food, their way of doing business and their general way of life.

Heck, my first understanding of the crypto currency revolution and how it will supposedly improve the economics, business practices and payment systems of the world as we know it, all came from reading several well –written articles and watching highly educative videos created by knowledgeable experts in the world of crypto currency... here on Steemit.

So yeah... I can say that my first twenty something days on Steemit has been nothing but pure bliss.

I must also confess that within 17 days of joining Steemit, simply making constructive comments on interesting posts /articles written by other Steemians has given me an unusual opportunity to share web design and ad copywriting ideas with other amazing, superbly talented people on the platform.

This resulted in me landing a 3 figure copywriting gig to create a compelling whiteboard Video Ad Script for an upcoming female jewelry and accessory designer.

The funny thing is that I made no conscious effort to sell myself. I just stated my mind on an issue, chatted privately with a business owner and voila... the proverbial golden egg lands on my lap.

I understand that to a lot of people, this may not sound like much ...but for a simple guy like me, $480 for just 3 to 4 days of work using a pen, some paper and my brain is a huge no-brainer.

....So Yeah... Thank You Steemit...

IMG-20180203-WA0006.jpg

What’s more ironic about this whole series of fortunate events is that I almost refused to join Steemit, seeing it as just another glorified ponzi scheme, cleverly designed to prey on newcomers and deprive innocent people of their hard earned money.

I was like “what sanely run, profitable and responsible social media platform outside the so-called “Big 4” would be able to pay good money to its contributors and members today... just for commenting on other people’s posts?”

“How on Earth is it possible for any reputable social media platform to pay hundreds or even thousands of dollars to someone, for uploading mundane... sometimes childish pictures like a brilliant sunset, a beautiful street, an amazing looking meal ...with the exact recipe of course, or even a picture of a beautiful but weird looking cat?”

“With all Payments executed in a fast, free, totally automated manner and without fail, even on a Sunday?”

__ “No way, not even the bigger social media players can top that.”__

Yeah, I know what you’re probably thinking of the old me right now...

What an Ignorant Klutz!

It wasn’t until a friend , fellow copywriter and senior Steemian (sorry, he didn’t want me to disclose his user ID), sent me a link to his recent earnings on Steemit from just one, less than a week- old article which... though well structured, was in fact written on the fly.

That was when I began to take Steemit as a serious platform and a realistic source of additional passive income.

IMG_20180202_153058 (1).jpg

IMG_20180202_152931.jpg

Now I’ve learned how to...
Identify high quality honey (thanks to you @bala41288),
• The basic ideas and working behind crypto currencies, especially Steemit and Bitcoin (thanks to @boxrunning, @lewisthomas, @exyle and @me-tarzan),
The hidden tricks and tips to taking awesome macro photographs relating to small plants and animals (thanks to you @heriadi).

46984.png

... And who can forget the one and only @gringalicious?

Your superb recipes especially this easy-peasy one on peanut butter plus banana oatmeal was a true life changer for me. I’ve never tasted anything that delicious in a very long time.

The best part is I got to make it all by myself...using you easy-to-follow recipes of course...lol!

Thank you so much for that and long may you continue to share those delicious delicacies with the rest of us butter-fingered cooking amateurs.

IMG_20180202_142526.jpg

Today I feel so proud to call myself a Steemian. I can talk all day about Steemit to anyone who cares to listen.
Steemit has improved my life experiences financially, intellectually and professionally.
It has opened my eyes to a previously hidden world where I get to enjoy the very 3 things I love to do the most;

Copywriting, learning new stuff and interacting with people....

And the fun part? I get paid to do all three...!

Thank You Steemit.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,you can follow me @donkelly

Thanks for the wonderful welcome....I'm enjoying myself already, trust me on that.

Yeah,i'm feeling ur waves from here already

Hi, welcome to Steemit. If you want to learn something about Steemit, you can follow me.

Thank you...no problem, will do so.

welcome to steemit. I hope you will enjoy your account and keep posting your original content and the nice photos :)

Thanks so much for your encouraging words...you bet I will!

Your welcome to this great platform. Wishing you a happy stay.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pipo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62708.03
ETH 2457.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62