9 Things You Probably Didn't Know About Katy Perry Until Now

in #hot7 years ago (edited)

download (1).jpg

Whether she's talking about cultural appropriation or which ex-boyfriend was better in bed, the 32-year-old singer has our attention.

And now she's about to generate some more with this new New York Times interview. Here all the interesting things we learned:

  1. Katy threw back a few drinks and held hands with Lady Gaga to soften the blow after Hillary Clinton lost the election.

“Gaga and I just looking at each other, and being like, [expletive] it, we need to touch each other.”

  1. But she hasn't had a drink since January 15.

  2. She believes there's a "strange race to be the most woke."
    "They want you to stand for something, but once you do, and if you don’t do it perfectly, they’re ready to take you right down.”

  3. She felt like hypersexualizing her image was the only option early on in her career.
    "I used to be scared of intimacy, I used to use my sexualization as attention, I used to over-sexualize myself because that was the only way I knew how."
    "I used to be scared of intimacy, I used to use my sexualization as attention, I used to over-sexualize myself because that was the only way I knew how."

  4. Daddy issues and Donald Trump led to her changing her perspective on her sexuality.
    She credits making amends with her father for her "full sexual liberation." "The reality is that I was re-triggered on the election. I was re-triggered by a big male that didn’t see women as equal. And that had been, unfortunately, a common theme in my upbringing."

  5. When she needs a friend to talk to about public image, Sia is her person. Sia wrote this about Katy:
    I think she’s presently challenging old held beliefs about herself and that even in this day and age, cutting all your hair off and having an opinion is NOT WHAT THE PEOPLE WANT. They would prefer you to make cute pop and to stay in your lane. I hide behind my wig, while she is out there taking bullets for the rest of us ... The less brave ... you know?

  6. She said, "All the awards shows are fake and all the awards that I’ve won are fake. They’re constructs."
    Katy believes award shows don't fully represent the music audience.
    Frazer Harrison / Getty Images
    Katy believes award shows don't fully represent the music audience.

  7. The 'old' Katy Perry is still alive and kicking. She's not dead.
    "I didn’t kill her, because I love her, and she is exactly what I had to do then. And I’m not a con artist, I didn’t con people, like, that was just me. And this is me now.”
    "I didn’t kill her, because I love her, and she is exactly what I had to do then. And I’m not a con artist, I didn’t con people, like, that was just me. And this is me now.”

  8. And despite everything, Katy is happy about this new chapter in her life, even if people don't understand it.
    "It’s a departure, and it’s a necessary evolution that I have to take. And I know that sometimes it feels publicly like I’m dragging cement blocks, but like, the pyramids were made out of cement blocks—or not cement. But do you know what I’m trying to say? I’m gonna get there.”

Sort:  

This is my first article!

Congratulations @madeulook! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70