Hostel Review: Monterrey, Mexico - Hostel La Casa del Barrio

in #hostelreview7 years ago

As one of my ways to thrive on the traveler's road is by making arrangements with hostels to trade my skills for my bed.


The hostel in Monterrey, Mexico is my first arrangement.


The dorm beds are about fifteen dollars.



Hostel La Casa del Barrio




The hostel was clean, very quiet and safe. It is in the middle of the downtown area and is considered to be a good area to walk about.




The local family running the place are very nice. Unfortunately, they made no effort to communicate that I needed to pay for the next night immediately because the reservations were filling up. Therefore, I had to leave before I truly felt ready.





The family does not really grasp what a hostel is or the needs of travelers. As far as I am concerned this not a true hostel. This hostel is more used by locals. It is possible this is what the locals expect.











One of the beautiful things about a hostel is the free use of the kitchen to prepare your own food.


Since I am an amazing chef I love to prepare my own food and strike up relationships with others in the kitchen cooking.




This, so called hostel, had a restaurant instead.







The guy running the place seemed a little weirded out when I walked into the kitchen and opened the refrigerator to store a leftover sandwich.


Sorry, no photos of the kitchen.
You can't use it, anyways.







Out of 5 STARS I give this hostel 3 STARS.




I only recommend it if you prefer to have a restaurant instead of a kitchen for you to use and speak better Spanish than me.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42