Humans Of Steemit: An Old But Golden Steemian @richq11 tells His Story

in #hos7 years ago (edited)

11_16_2019


Our Final guest for this week is @richq11, I discovered him on Steemit quite recently but,he is one of the Steemians whose content i find original and very interesting

.

His work reminds me of the word" Old But Gold"

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the story of @richq11


529198_3481492595244_1339383153_n


My name is Richard "Rich" Quitliano, I'm a writer from Boston who currently resides in Arkansas.I am a Father, Grandfather, Great-grandfather. Anyone interested in my whole life story can read it on Steemit- The Kid That Became A Guy- or Google it.

I became a writer be accident, kind of, while in adult ed, I was trying to get out of a reading assignment (I hate Jack London) by claiming to be a writer. The teacher asked for some samples and I was stuck. I went home and cranked out 3-4 stories.

That got me into college where I made spending cash (I had a wife and 4 kids, I needed it) writing Master's Theses for cash. I found I was pretty good at the heavily structured academic style.

Now I'm trying to make the transition to writing fiction... I'm not too good at it yet, but I'm improving, I think. I'm currently working on two stories, The Lottery Council and The Night Gods II, a sequel to the first.Before I discovered Steemit I was writing mostly nonfiction on Blogspot.com.

I discovered Steemit while watching a video by High Impact Flix on YT and sounded interesting so I checked it out.

The first few weeks I made making friends and trying to figure out how the platform works- I'm not a very tech savvy guy, so it took a while... There's a lot I'm still unsure about. I also started submitting articles to get a feel for what people might be interested in.

As far as the Steemit Economy goes, there's so much I still don't know. At first I looked at it as play money- I gave a lot away. If someone was in trouble, I sent them (usually about half of what I had) what I could. Then when I was in a bind I sold some of my SBD. Later I sent for a Bitpay Card and learned how to convert using Bittrex.

How Steemit changed my life... Not only am I a part of a wonderful community, I am able to pay my bills, thanks to Steemit. This is my only source of income and it's made a lot of things possible that weren't before.

I couldn't begin to list all the people that have helped me along the way... I'd be afraid to leave someone out. Let me say this- 90% of the people on Steemit are great. Like any other platform, you're going to find some bad apples. It seems that there are less on here than on, say Facebook or Twitter. Whenever I've needed help, no matter with what- someone has stepped up. So I guess everybody has helped.

My advice. Forget about money, followers, and all the rest... they will come. Have fun. Concentrate on producing quality content... whatever you're into, you'll find others on here into the same things. That will become your base. Just have fun, be patient and let things take care of themselves.


Thank you all for reading, Our first guest for next week is the amazing @shayne

To view all the Stories posted this week, check my blog or the #hos tag

The purpose of Humans Of Steemit is to provide a sense of hope and encouragement to new Steemians, so if you know any Minnow that needs Motivation , direct the person to this series

This post is 100% Resteemable

Have a Splendid Day

Follow @ogochukwu

Sort:  

Brilliant work @ogochukwu . keep up the good work. Hope to be interviewed in the nearest future. :)

Wow! Great grand father, I humble, sir. I love it when I see people who are old but with youthful heart. Weldone sir

@richq11I think you're incredibly resourceful! I wonder how many other great-grandfathers there even are on steemit?

good advice!

Thank you! I have followed you both. Thank you for featuring other artists on Steem so the rest of us can discover them.

Thanks my friend! It felt a little weird upvoting- it was like upvoting myself... did I really say all that? It was the middle of the night and there was a bad storm... I had to keep rebooting the comp every time the lights went out and I kept losing my place. Thanks again just for considering me!

Old.... I Keel You lol!!!

It was nice having you Sir.

@ogochukwu

I just hope I did OK... The electricity kept going off!

Congratulations @ogochukwu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am very interested in reading your article, and actually I want to learn more to make an interesting article, if you are willing to teach me, I am very happy if you say yes. Thanks Brother @ogochukwu

I love reading these Humans of Steemit stories. Keep it up, @ogochukwu. :)

Resteeming this to 11,000+ followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15