WILD HORSES IN MY YARD

in #horses6 years ago

horses-1777773_960_720.jpg

HERE in Western Nevada there are thousands of "wild horses". These horses are not indigenous to the area. In other words they were not here before humans arrived, in particular white Europeans, who brought horses with them in the mid 1800's. Of course there were areas in the west were Spanish explorers came in the late 1500's and 1600's and brought horses with them. Wild horses in the western US come from these two sources.

The horses we now see out on the range are come from domesticated horses that were either abandoned, turned loose or one way or another escaped human control. A better term might be "feral" horses, in other words, horses come from once-domesticated animals.

Some of these wild/feral horses are very recent to the range. The cost of owning a horse is prohibitive. I know people who owned a horse but for various reasons could no longer afford to keep it, and were unable to sell it so they just turned it loose out onto the range. Though this is the exception, it does indeed happen.

Right now there are approximately 2,000 to 2,500 wild/feral horses in the Virginia Range, a relatively small, dry, mountain range east of Reno and Carson City, Nevada. The problem is that natural forage and water on this range is limited, and getting more limited with the expansion of human habitation. As the horses breed and multiply resources needed to sustain the herds become quite strained, leading to poor health and even starvation. It is not uncommon to have horses come into ones yard searching for grass, or anything edible. It really is quite sad. The only time of the year these wild horses really have an abundance of feed out on the range is in the spring or early summer. The rest of the year is often very difficult for these beautiful animals.

Of course State and Federal programs that allow people to adopt captured, or rescued horses see some of them to good homes but only a small percentage. The growing problem is that the horses are multiplying beyond what the range can sustain. Organizations like the American Wild Horse Campaign are now inoculating the wild horse mares with PZP that makes them sterile in an attempt to control the future population of horses.

For those of us who live here with these feral horses as our neighbors it is always, at least for most of us, a joy to see the horses in the fields around our homes. It is not uncommon at all, too, to see them wandering up and down residential streets looking for a yard they can slip into as they search for food. Indeed, I have fed them out of my hand with carrots, apples, even loaves of bread when they are desperate for food in the winter months.

Another cool program that has been successful is to have prison inmates care and train the horses on prison property to get the horses ready for adoption.

IMG_0935.jpg

Wild horses in my yard a couple of weeks ago.

![IMG_0941.jpg]
()

This wild horse doesn't look too wild at all.

27459094_1731040416954460_8110938635129439225_n.jpg

Virtuecirclebanner1.png

Sort:  

I love horses so much... In its body can see the power...
And in its movement, we can see beauty...
And in its eyes, we find secrets.
And in its voice, we find self-esteem

This is my son at Horse fest. Horses are part of our culture .
thank you, the King of the words. @mistermercury

Wow. Thats great. Like your poem too. Where do you live?

My body lives in Algeria... But my soul lives everywhere where love and peace exist.

Wow! Can't say I've ever met anyone from Algeria. Most likely Algiers? Yes, Peace. The illusive peace. You must not have too much oil in Algiers otherwise the U.S. would be warring against you, of course to "bring democracy" to the world. What rubbish. Blessings.

How interesting - popping over to see your feed now! :)

This is the animal closest to my heart. My heart skipped a beat when I saw your opening picture. I was having a tough time dealing with a situation I experienced recently. Your post depressurized my stress. They are so beautiful. I love their form,smell how their muzzle feels when they take a treat from your hand. I always wished I had been brave enough to travel to a place that I could see them wild. I appreciate this post more than you will ever know.

This was my Lucy girl. The love of my life. She was blind.

10253921_10203564134716783_4630899843199233832_n.jpg157.JPG

Wow, I know those bonds of love are so strong.... My dad had a blind horse, in fact it was white. Your's is kinda white. Blessings.

@kathylee if you ever get out here I'll show you more horses than you can shake a stick at. And if you ever get to Colorado I have a horse there that will astound you. An exceptional soul, that horse.Blessings.

I've never had horses on my range; maybe that's because I don't have a range that I call my own. Hmm; I did once get to the kamarg in the south of France and saw those horses running wild and free; and then I got sunburnt and on some train later I talked wildly as if I had some kind of sun stroke to the brain or something...years later I found that it was too much heat and not enough water, and said: oh, so that's what it was; I'll stay out of the sun next time, I thought....

Oh my, @wales I bet you have a typing speed of about 65 words a minute! I suspect there are not many whales in wales, perhaps if you keep writing so furiously you'll be the first! Blessings. Thanks for stopping by. Oh, and we have a great community over here. Hope to see you get connected.

I would like that. Please try to send me some kind of reminder to direct me there...every day is different and i lose track

Yes, come on over and make contact with @wwf, he is the person organizing Stewards of Tera Mater, and connect with @davemccoy, he is very well connected and will welcome you in and mentor, @spiritualmax is a great guy, along with @maverickinvictus. If you follow them, ask questions and get engaged then you'll be on your way. Here a link to @wwf. He tells you how to connect at the bottom of his post.https://steemit.com/ungrip/@wwf/stewards-of-terra-mater-back-up-to-10-active-members

Thanks for helping direct people.. great leadership @mistermercury! :D

I have connected to @wales and happy to see you out there spreading yourself around here too! :)

ps... love the horses, I can imagine having wild horses in my area... we do have deer, squirrels, and sometimes fox and bears... but no horses :P

Alright, this is the perfect time to ask: my health is on the upswing so I've got more energy to dedicate to service. What one thing, other than out there hunting for good folks, would you suggest I do? Perhaps the @newbieresteemday, or @quarator? In other words, something more organized than what I'm doing. I like looking for new talent, unnoticed newbies. Suggestions?

right now its all about the connections... The more connections you have, the more we are all levered together... I'm not talking about followers (that can lead to connections), what I'm talking about is getting to know others so we can expand our reach. I look at you as a center of influence and a man who is a leader by nature. So just keep communicating with others and your base will grow. At some point, there will be things to do together. Right now, I'm focused on putting the witnesses on center stage and introducing you (and your connections that are "community focused")... I have 4 right now and working on others to recommend we vote for... @steemcommunity (@abh12345 and @paulag), @danielsaori, @curie, and @qurator. I have more on the way and hopefully it will get traction. I would welcome you to support those groups but I'm not quite ready to launch it full boar. Its coming soon though... So just keep being you and establishing your name and integrity, that's worth more than money in my opinion! ;)

Alright, thanks. I'll keep up the idea and process of building community. I'll support the groups you suggest and look forward to voting for the witnesses. Had kind of a "got my shit together" moment this weekend. Have decided on a relatively clear path. Many thanks.

Thanks; I'm onto it now...

Great Piece, Christopher. I love it. It's another reason I had thought if I ever came back that particular area had the most interest to me for some reason... Maybe it would be to take some in and care for them too. That would be awesome.

I particularly like the:

prison program to have prison inmates care and train the horses on prison property to get the horses ready for adoption.

BTW, I did a post the other day on Change, but strangely so far it's had the worst movement of any of mine since the first weeks on steemit. Anyway, have a great weekend, my friend. Many Blessings to you.

Hey. I'll go check that out and resteem. Already know it's going to be good. Thanks for letting me know. Sorry I missed it when posted. I've had a couple of challenging days.

Thanks, Christopher! Yeah, I've been having a rough week too, not able to sleep but 3 or 4 hours a night and all the effects of that on my body and energy. I'm toying with this headliner pic of my next post. It's sort of how I feel on steemit - LOL:

source: appreciatinglife.org

Dang! You are all the way up to a (9)! Yeah, the pic is a great one. Blessings.

Yeah, @swissclive, helped me out with a second monster upvote today on a comment I shared on her post explaining about the Dan-Ned fight 2 months ago over Ned downvoting dan's post on EOS and Ned not being active on steemit since in 2 months or so...

It's like me in the pic above and she gave me a bit of a push forward. I also edited the Change post and added a bit on Blockchain and AI technology and what change I would like to see in the world. Blessings to you too

Will have to go back and review that post. Glad to hear it.

Can these horses be adapted? You can use it as a car.

Sure, they can be adopted and trained.

The wild horses are amazing.Really good shots and described well.

Thanks. The horses are great.

Can you imagine the void of people in the city? Will they ever feel the excitement of feeding a wild horse some carrots. It makes your hart pump faster and hearing it breath makes you realize what amazing creature this is. It is really something different than looking at a picture.

Thanks for the post @mistermercury

Yes, it's a real treasure to have these right out our doors. Blessings.

I love any programs in the prisons that is such a win/win like that (they do this with shelter dogs for adoption and some train as service animals, too) I'm unclear why the horses are being trained for adoption at all - because in the wild they are just struggling too hard to survive?

Yes, it was an attempt to get some of the horses off the range. They were overpopulating and indeed starving, and also making the other animals, particularly deer, starve too.

It is so nice that you are able to feed the horses now and then. We humans seem to take over places that these animals need to roam. The horses may not have originated here but they are here none the less.

Great post thanks

There are no natural preditors to keep their population in check. I see no solution unless people want to hunt and eat horses like they do with wild deer and elk populations.

Like you said most people can't afford to keep a horse. There is a horrible problem with feral pigs that have gone wild. People are used to eating pigs and the millions of pigs running wild in the US could feed a lot of hungry people.

https://www.livescience.com/28560-feral-pigs-running-wild.html

Nature is harsh when animal over breed, they starve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51