Five years ago, Leo had his first horse ride. He was 6 years old. :)

in #horsebackriding7 years ago

Hello again everyone!

This time I'll be publishing a couple of pictures from the past, and not so distant past.

In the first one Leo rides for the first time when a father of his kindergarten friend invited Leo to join a horse safari for kids. I tagged along and shot some photos...

Leo riding a horse
Utter fun!

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF-S18-55mm ƒ/3.5-5.6 III
Focal length: 18 mm
Aperture: ƒ/4.5
Exposure:  1/400 s
ISO: 200

Some years later, in last Spring, Vera sent him to a horse riding camp, where he learned to take care of horses and ride by himself. There were also a lot of farm animals like a pig, sheep and goats, bunch of hen and two or three roosters, domesticated doves and of course a lot of ponies and horses. It was pretty much everything a kid could wish for.

He loved it!


...although you can't really see it in the picture. ;)

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/4
Exposure:  1/200 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

But he was really energized and happy after the camp.

I was personally quite interested at how they treated Leo. He seemed to get the most out of the whole camp. It was like they were directing him personally with all the important stuff, and all the other "students" (who all happened to be girls) seemed to get the remains.

But I do get it, in a way. In a way it makes sense that a sport or hobby that is mostly female, would feel the need for some boys to join too. It's natural to hope the other sex would get interested in what you do. (But I know some feminists would gladly invent a slew of other reasons. "Oppression", "patriarchy" and so on...)

All that doesn't matter though. Leo liked horse riding, and that's what does matter.

I'm thinking, he might want to attend one of these camps again some day.


[Previous post: One photo every day: I'm stupid. (194/365) + musings about Miro and figure skating]



If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Totally agree with you, my friend, if Leo likes to deal with horses and generally take care of animals, that's fine! Excellent photos and you can immediately see that the boy is happy! Thank you @gamer00

Great photo.Riding and caring for horses, which can be more interesting for the child. The more it is proved that it is the horses that have a beneficial effect on the unstable psyche of the child.

riding can be considered the oldest sport in history
currently leo is 11 years old
Leo will be very happy to go there again
I guess he would be happy to go back and see the farm again
@gamer00

Riding horses is a lot of fun! It brought back one memory of mine. I was really really little back then, I can't remember how or when, but I clearly remember I was looking at this horse from up close and to me, it looked like this horse was as tall as a building. My dad put me on the horse and it looked like I was sooo far away from ground. I don't know how my imagination could've possibly make this memory, but I really remember it like that. I still can't believe that it looked so tall. lol

He will grow up and be a knight and a skillful skier ,,, pay close attention to him

Doesn’t matter if it’s mostly a “girl” hobby. I’m a guy and I think it’s awesome! It’s even better that doesn’t deter him from doing what he likes too!

Has anyone ever asked how come you have pictures from years past?? I guess am asking now. I can barely trace photos of 3 years except for the ones I purposely uploaded online so I could download when I need them

Well for me they are already online. I uploaded them years ago... Some times I will scour through my harddrive and find stuff I haven't already uploaded, I re-edit and upload them. On my computer, I name all the directories under ~/Pictures as dates and an identifier like the following: 2015-11-04 – Forest creeps.

That way, when I look the contents of ~/Pictures, I can immediately read when and what I have photographed in each directory name. :)

Oh, and to answer your first question... no, no-one has asked it yet. You'd be the first.

Oh... I see. It's really good to be documented.

Leo looks like William Wallace from the movie Braveheart on that horse, seems like he'll mean business soon ;)

Leo is a very cute talented rider I trust. He has long future. Learn some thing alone. Its great. Many child don't do that. But leo did. Cheers little child. You'll win future.

leo will be a very good rider :) @gamer00

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44