I'd like to introduce Kai Lee's Diamond "Gunner"

in #horse7 years ago (edited)

Eight months ago I brought home a five month old bouncing baby boy! Kai Lee's Diamond Gunner is his registered name and it was instant love at first sight.

Growing up I was always an animal lover growing up with dogs and cats and furry critters. They were all my very best friends. I felt comfortable having them around and adored every single one of them. As I got older I had a friend who had a horse and I was SO jealous. I would go and hang out at the barn whenever I could, watching her ride along-side the billions of barn kitties. My parents couldn't afford to buy me my own horse and I understood that.

When I started working as a teenager I finally had money to go on trail rides at a local stable. I would go whenever I could and loved it. When my first daughter was born my priorities switched and I no longer could afford to go on these rides. As soon as she turned 6 years old you betcha, she was enrolled in pony camp! I was beyond excited to be able to give her the opportunities that I didn't have. Soon enough she was in weekly lessons and having a blast. My youngest daughter followed suit and is a natural and still rides today and I too have taken some "adult" lessons on how to stay on a horse! I clearly didn't listen to well and one of my "few" falls landed with a broken wrist. I'll leave that for another post!!!

In the meantime I had a itching love for miniature horses. I would get googly-eyed whenever I'd see one like a little girl. Their little compact bodies were adorable and they were so much fun. Whenever I told anyone I wanted to get one they'd say "What for? You can't ride them!". I would get so mad and more determined to have one of my own. I have a friend who has 3 on her farm and one day I mentioned how serious I was and that was all it took! She had one extra spot open am my search began. I seen so many and of course I loved them all but for some reason I was holding out for perfection. Sure enough he popped up! Only one left available from a farm 5 hours away but I knew I NEEDED him!

The day the trailer pulled into the farm I was bursting with excitement. I had been wanting this for so long. The little peanut walked off the massive trailer without a problem. My 5 month old buckskin mini colt was home. He was much more quiet than I'd expected and clearly had been handled a lot!

Since that day I have watched him grow through the winter with his fuzzy winter coat and now shed out into his gorgeous colours. He now has learned that he's a stud and October can't come soon enough to have him gelded. He does have a girlfriend and there is a chance he may be a daddy one day but we decided to let nature takes its course.

He is everything I could have wanted and more. He's been in the Santa Claus parade, we go on long walks on trails and into town for everyone to get a kick out of seeing a herd of minis walking through the subdivision. We'll be headed to the mall next week for a family fun day. I have thoughts of eventually showing for fun to see what he can do but ultimately I have another very best friend. And NO I don't need to ride him! ☺️

Lori ✌️

Sort:  

Awwwwww he's so cute! :) :) I used to want a horse so bad when I was young. I don't think I'd mind having a mini horse if I had a place to keep him happy! Thanks for sharing his homecoming story :D

Thank you! Yeah he really is adorable! If there's a way I suggest you do! He is just so much fun 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43