What Happens in Waverly (work in progress)

in #horror7 years ago

"We're sending you to Bryant's Boarding School for Girls," my mother, Cheryl said in a lackadaisical tone.
I stared at her, dumbfounded. Then I quickly swallowed the bite of Shepherd's pie that was in my mouth.
"What? You can't do that. I'm a junior in High School. I literally have one year left!" I said.
"Well, according to your principal you've been skipping classes and if you don't pass them you'll have to take this year over," Cheryl replied.
"That's like, out in the middle of nowhere, I'll have to make all new friends. Dad!" I exclaimed as I looked over at my father.
He shook his head. "Cara, your mother and I have decided that this is best for you. I think you'll like it once you get there. It will be like being in college, no parents around. You'll get to be more like an adult. We've already made the arrangements. We'll take you to the bus tomorrow to Waverly County, from there, you'll take a shuttle directly to the campus."
I couldn't believe this was actually happening.
I said in a defeated tone, "but I won't even have time to say goodbye to my friends."
"You'll be able to contact them when you get there. There may not be cell service, but the school has internet," Cheryl assured me.
I felt sick. "May I be excused?" I asked.
"You haven't finished your food and I made cheesecake," Cheryl replied.
"I can't eat right now," I said.
My parents looked at each other. My dad shrugged and cut into his asparagus.
"Fine, get a good night's sleep. I'll wake you up at 7 for the bus," Cheryl said.

The next day I woke up and my parents drove me to the bus station as planned. I'd never ridden on an actual bus alone before. A school bus, sure, but not a public transit bus. It smelled. A man boarded at the nest stop. He had dirty blonde hair, a strong jawline and blue eyes. He wore a hoodie and torn blue jeans. He sat down next to me. I turned and looked out the window.
"So, where are you headed?" He asked.
"Waverly," I responded, not turning away from the window.
"Oh, me too. That's where I live. What brings you to Waverly?" The man asked.
I let out a sigh. "My parents are sending me to Bryant's Boarding School," I said.
"Wow. Bryant's. That place always gives me the creeps. I work at the pub about 5 miles down the road from there. It's the only pub in town and I know everyone who comes in there. I talk to all of them. No one seems to know much about what goes on in that place. You would think that it being so close to the school, some of the students would stop by for a burger or something. We've got half off burgers on Tuesday nights. But no one ever does. You're the first person I've met from there," He said.
I finally turned and looked at him. "Are you trying to creep me out? I already hate the fact I'm going there," I said.
He gave a slight chuckle, "No, I'm sorry, I didn't mean to scare you. I'm sure that those girls are just too good to hang around townies like us and that's why we never see them. But hey, if you decide to venture out, feel free to stop by. If you come out of the entrance of the school and take a right, just go about 5 miles like I said, it will be on your left. Waverly pub. Can't miss it."
"What a unique name," I replied.
"Sarcasm. Nice. I think we'll get along well. You know I try not to take life too seriously, you'll never get out alive. My name is Dan by the way," Dan said.
I reached out my hand and forced a smile, "Clara. Nice to meet you."

We reached Waverly at about noon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80