Outlast 2: What A Disturbing Game!

in #horror7 years ago

Generally, I am not a fan of horror movies or tv shows, but for some reason horror games have been a guilty pleasure of mine. The unfortunate thing is I don't have any fancy system to play them, so I just watch other people play them on YouTube. I don't think a lot is lost from watching someone play a horror game vs playing it yourself -- there are still thrills and chills, and honestly the story of a good horror is what I come for.

So, my wife and I recently started watching Markiplier play Outlast 2, and man -- oh MAN! -- is it disturbing.

As eluded to in the title, this game is very disturbing on several levels. The simple sensoral discomfort of it is one thing. There is blood, guts, torture, illness, sexual horror... basically anything that you can imagine that would incline you to divert your eyes is in this game.

But beyond being a gore-fest, which it sort of is but also sort of isn't, there is a deeper spiritual horror of the game, which is the inversion of religious principals put into action. Basically, this is as satanic as it gets. Christians who believe they are doing the work of God committing the most heinous and inhumane acts in His name.

I'm not sure what the central moral is of this story, but it certainly appears to mean something. We will continue to watch the series, although it is hard to take more than two episodes in a single sitting -- so be warned!

Tell me what you think.

@shayne

Sort:  

Fun!
Love this dude and his editorial :)

He used to really bug me lol

But now he's one of my favorites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82