Some of my favorite horror movies

in #horror7 years ago (edited)

My previous horror movie post was focused on 5 great apocalypse picks. This time I'm going to share a few more titles that I think every fan of scary movies should check out. I am always excited to get new suggestions myself so please throw some my way in the comments. Some of these are in my opinion, really scary, and others are just really enjoyable. Hope I can help you find a new favorite.

  1. The Loved Ones (2009)
    Lola is just an average teenager with a huge crush on a boy. Unfortunately for him, he is happy with his own girlfriend. This Australian offering is intense and gory, and different than any others I've seen. I wish I'd never seen it just so I could see it again for the first time. The Kasey Chambers song Lola loves, well, its saccharine croons will never sound the same. Pro tip: don't drink milk or eat fried chicken while watching, and skip the trailer, just go in blind.

2.Oculus (2013)
This one actually stayed with me for a week, particularly at bedtime. Most movies don't scare me much, but this one did. It begins with a sister reuniting with her brother who has been in a mental hospital since a tragedy occurred in their childhood. She is determined to prove her brother is innocent and a much worse truth is behind the breakdown of their family. Told in real time and flashbacks, Oculus is fast paced and never boring. Bonus for Katee Sackhoff who played Starbuck in the excellent series BattleStar Gallactica.

3.Starry Eyes (2014)
Surprisingly I found this selection from a Redbox video machine. It's full of largely unknowns which plays to its favor. Sarah is a young waitress at Big Taters (think Hooters, but even lamer). She and all of her friends are desperate to make it in Hollywood as they deal with demeaning jobs, and jealousy over relationships and success. When Sarah gets an audition things are looking up, until the true cost of the casting couch becomes clearer. I absolutely loved it, and can't believe it isn't more known.

  1. April Fools Day (1986)
    Muffy St. John is throwing a party weekend at her parents mansion on an island. Her friends are all ready for a good time, but things get weird and creepy pretty much from the get go. Everyone has dark secrets, as they get exposed, things get darker. It has a cool twist and stars Thomas Wilson, everyone's favorite bully Biff from Back to the Future.

  2. Sleep away Camp III (Teenage Wasteland!) (1988)
    Angela Baker is a naughty campers nightmare. You wanna smoke weed, pull mean pranks, panty raid? Not on her watch! She the most wholesome murderer you'll ever meet. This ridiculous movie brings all the crass humor and lots of creative kills. There are some bad stereotypes, so bad they can be laughable and some racism, but trust, Angela is not cool with bigotry, and she remedies the wrongs. This one is just fun and played wonderfully by Bruce Springsteen's sister Pamela.

Well, have you seen these? Any interest? One hope I have is that you guys will get to see some movies you may not otherwise have found, and give me some new stuff to check out. Sleep tight pretties!

Sort:  

I am a huge fan of both horror and apocalyptic. Great list! Following for more

Thanks for pointing me to your post! I've not seen many of these as I'm definitely an older horror film fanatic, but I'm thrilled to have great newer recos... absolutely going to check these out... oh and I LOVE Sleepaway Camp! They're so campy (pun not intended) and just great.

Cool, I hope you like them.

Have you watched Dumplings? I have a feeling you'll enjoy it. It's a great flick.
Great list btw!

Yes I have! It's been a while though, I should revisit that one. Thank you 😊

You are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16