A Deal I'd Never Bargain For

in #horror4 years ago (edited)

Horrific shadows chase me through the night.
Where is my sword? Where is a light?
I hear the footsteps getting nearer and nearer.
I'm out of time. I've lost all that I hold dear.

From under the bed reaches a hand,
A terrible grasping claw of a twisted man.
I scramble away, feeling his grip tear at my shoe.
I'm out of sane ideas and I don't know what to do.

Through the dark kitchen hallway I hurry,
But from within the dishwasher I hear a scurry.
An eye peeps through, peering at me with a dark desire,
So as I rush past, I spill the oil and light a cleansing fire.

Up the stairs and in the closet I find hidden a powerful tool of force;
A high-powered harpoon cannon, big enough to take down a horse.

If I go fast and hard, I might be able to surprise them while they're still confounded.
So lock and load and here I go, I burst out of that small room and find myself surrounded.

But I'm only just getting started tonight.
Time to enjoy my glorious flight!

I aim the harpoon through the window and pull the trigger to let the harpoon free.
The hook hits, and I see my chance! I leap out the window, clinging to the rope, and land right in a tree.

I jump down, finally safe it seems.
But what an impotent wish, such pathetic dreams.
From the alleyways come more, holding out hands with contract and a pen;
This poem here is a scrap of journal from the day the salesmen took over, and the world began to end.

A simple warning: A new dishwasher or mattress only sounds comfy and warm...
Until the clever sales team begins to swarm.

salesman.png

Sort:  

The last month consisted of needing to buy a new bed, go dishwasher shopping, and finally buying the cheapest TV I could find. I discovered that salespeople are incredibly helpful at trying to get you to buy expensive things.

That's what they exist for

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12