The People Under the Stairs (film): a surprise 90's hit from Wes Craven

in #horror6 years ago

Wes Craven is most well-known for A Nightmare on Elm Street but he actually has a ton of other films, some were hits, some were not. I had actually forgotten that I had even seen this movie because I was quite young. Since it is rated "R" I likely wasn't supposed to be watching it but you know, we had our ways.

This is another one of those situations where there was no internet to get an idea about a film and I wouldn't have been subjected to the movie trailer because I was too young in 1991 to be exposed to it. I likely saw the cover art in a video rental shop and thought the art was cool and that was all it took for me to want to see it. Basically anything with a skull on it piqued my interest. I think it still does.

The story is about a feared house in the "hood" that a group of thieves decide to burgle one day. They use a young boy nicknamed "Fool" (terrible nickname) in order to gain access to the house and well, since obviously the people inside the house are the horror aspect of this movie, things go terribly wrong for the would-be-criminals.

people-under-the-stairs-fool-ving-rhames-gentrification.jpg
source

As it turns out the owners of the house, named "Mommy" and "Daddy" are inbred psychopaths that have, as the title would suggest, a bunch of monstrous prisoners under their stairs. The house is also outfitted with a bunch of deadly traps and secret passageways, which are completely impractical given the exterior shots that show the house is nowhere near as big as it appears in the scenes. However, it's fiction and we just have to roll with it.

gff0rasvl8gdhf4sljug.jpg
source

This film likely acheived its "R" rating because it is extremely bloody and graphic. The language isn't too course but it is a bloodbath. The twist in the film might not surprise everyone, but for barely teenage me I found it shocking.

While this is by no means a kid's movie, it was a kid's movie for me and I have fond memories of it. I really think it stands up to the test of time and is still entertaining today. The movie (as I mentioned) was a surprise hit as it ended up making 5 times the budget back at the box office. If you are a gore / horror fan and you haven't seen this one, i suggest you get a hold of it soon. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

7/ 10

Sort:  

Great film @gooddream, you have great taste in films my friend. I think that "creepy couple" "Mommy and Daddy" got casted for Twin Peaks because of this movie...

I think I even checked out what "Fool" is doing today out of curiosity, this was like a darker more creepier version of "The Goonies", I watched this several times as kid, I really liked that kid "Rat" who was living in walls...

This "kid" Brandon Quintin Adams, who was playing "Fool" is still an actor now he's starring in/working on a series called Reborn: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8514580/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_1

Could be fun to watch!

Cheerios!
/FF

great follow-up and thanks for the tip. Im gonna check that show out :)

This movie marked my childhood, its somewhat disregarded but a true gem. Love how the cover implies something supernatural and horrific, and in the end I ended up feeling empathy because, well, its people.

yeah, i agree, don't even know why i remembered it. There are others. Thanks for commenting. I checked out your blog in return and am now following you :)

For me it’s more creepier version of the “Goonies” but it’s still a good movie even now.

Watching a movies which help us us to remind our childhood days thats great. And one more earlier movies which was created as a horrer we see certain ti.es it look like so funny now because of todays director and leople putting so much effort to make it so advance level.

Posted using Partiko Android

It sounds a bit scary but it seems fun as well:))

Great film i want watch this now at night haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65