Before I wake

in #horror7 years ago

I just finished watching Before I wake and first of all, I wouldn't call this a horror. I'd call it a drama with a goodly pinch of horror.

The film is about a couple, who has lost their son in a drowning accident, and the boy they take in as a foster child. This boy is quite special however. His dreams, and nightmares, manifest in the real world while he sleeps.

It is a beautiful movie, it tugs hard on the heartstrings. This little boy is the cutest, sweetest, most endearing being you can imagine. You just wanna pick him up, hold him, kiss him and tell him eeeeverything is gonna be just alright. That he's safe and none can hurt him. It tears be up inside when he gets sad or upset, that's probably what go t to me most.
His demons are heavy on his heart and everyone around him suffers for it. At some point it all feels unbearable, and maybe that's the biggest horror of them all.

The part of the film that you would actually classify as horror was well made though! It gave me the creeps, definitely. Although, I wanted more. Much more. And from time to time the flow of the movie slowed right down. It's fine, good even, to have scenes where the audience is on edge, the room is silent and the person is slowly turning his head to see the horror behind him! But when this goes on and on and on, the interest goes away. Your mind starts to drift. And if you do this to much without anything actually happening, then you might end up with a plain old BORING film. Before I wake borderlined on that.

All in all, it was good. You need to take it for what it is though. If you go in expecting to be scared out of your wits at any given turn, keep looking.
However, if you want something pretty, moving yet slightly creepy, this is the one for you.

I give it a 6/10

This is how far I've gotten on the hat. At the moment it just looks like a complete shamble but I have a plan.20170629_232544.jpg

I'm not really tired and was planning on watching another film but now I'm not sure anymore. We'll see what I get up to. Either there will be another review later on/tomorrow or I will have found something else to do.

Good night peeps!

Sort:  

Congratulations @frokenteddy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60991.51
ETH 3361.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48