Green Room 🎬 Movie Review

in #horror7 years ago

WTF did I just watch?! A slasher-siege-horror mind-fuck so insane I had to write a review straight away.


There's no way I could review this movie without quickly acknowledging how impressed I was from start to finish, so here is the spoiler alert: This movie kicks major ass.

Green Room tells the grim and grizzly story of a broke punk band on the road, ending up involved in some seriously bizarre and dangerous shit.

It opens with the band on the road trying to organize gigs, with everything going wrong. Fed up and running out of options, they eventually agree to play in a secluded club venue, deep in the woods of Cascadia. The audience: An organised gang of Neo Nazi thugs. Starting their set with Dead Kennedys "Nazi Punks Fuck Off ", they suddenly becomes rather less welcome. Of course, when one of the band members sees something he shouldn't have, any remaining welcome they may have had is abruptly brought to an end, and thus begins a most bloody, intense clusterfuck. Don't worry, I won't give any more away. That crazy shit happens in the first ten minutes, and things get crazier from that point anyway!

Anton Yelchin plays Pat, our main protagonist. He spends the whole movie battling for survival, while simultaneously pondering the all important question - "What's your desert island band?" (no really)
If you hated him in Star Trek as much as I did, fear not, his performance here far beyond makes amends, and under the unfortunate circumstances of his untimely death, it's wonderful to see him go out on such a high note.

Much has been made of Patrick Stewarts performance as Darcy, the cold-blooded gang leader. I found it understated, but perfectly so. His character is gimmick-free, making him all the more convincing. You might recognise the dude beside him at the bar in the picture above.

That's the superb actor, Macon Blair, who starred in Blue Ruin, another film directed by Jeremy Saulnier. Whether the color thing in the movie names is a coincidence or part of a loosely linked slasher series remains to be seen.

The beautiful Imogen Poots (above) steals the whole show though. She plays Amber, a nonchalant, dangerous Nazi, with a killer haircut, a torn allegiance.. oh, and a box-cutter. There are a few clever laughs along the way but action and suspense are top of the menu. The movie grinds along for 90 minutes without the need for an over the top musical score. Instead we have utter grittiness, with nobody safe, and no object spared if it can be used as a weapon, including fire extinguishers, dogs, and microphone stands. Get the idea? This movie was instantly one of my favourite slasher/horror movies of all time. Don't miss it.

Watch the trailer:

words: @condra. This is an update to my previous post on the movie.

Sort:  

Thanks for the review @condra. I'm normally not into horror flicks and your review reminded me of why. Thanks for the heads up. Too scary for me. 😉

I'm not normally into horrors but this was fantastic. It doesn't do that nasty trick of playing on your nerves with weird string instruments. The story and the action are amazing. I hope you give it a chance some time.

I'm not into horrors just becuase 90% of those movies are cheap production trashes sadly. Youget disappointed after a while and lose patience. But when some1 recommends one then im happy to watch it.

I saw it! So crazy movie. Not so much scary but just crazy and violent and funny. I love it! This girl also. She is so good!

Yeah it's one of my faves. Imogen Poots is an absolute doll.

I stopped reading when you wrote it kicks ass and spoiler alert. Was looking for a quality horror for a while and Imma check this one out asap! Ill get back to your review after watchnig :D

Please report back! I loved every second of this movie!
Thanks for your comment.

I saw that one a while ago! that's good stuff very crude scenes :)

Very interesting movie so fun

Crazy film yeah.

I saw this movie a few months ago and thought it was good. Would recommend.

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

Sounds a little rich for my blood... Indiana Jones is about as scary as I get (-:

Great review! I saw this movie, this is crazy, violent and funny. I love it!

Imogen poots is very beautiful :D

This was such an insanely awesome movie! Patrick Stewart was such a change from his typical characters.
I'm a total punk rock kid so I throughly enjoyed this film.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73