A New Idea For The Steemit Music Community "The Horns Up Saloon On Steemit.Com"

in #hornsupsaloon6 years ago


Greetings Steemians!

I have been wanting to start my own initiative within the Steemit Music Community for a long time but have not until recently come up with an idea. There are already two major contest and several others as well, so I wanted to do something that was not a contest, but would reward the musician with steem. So I came up with the idea of a Steemit based music venue.

The venue will be known as The Horns Up Saloon on Steemit.com. I will host the saloon on my account and the artist who play each week will share in half the payout. There will also be 20% of the payout each week that will be put to the side and at the end of the month I will make a post allowing the audience to vote for a band of the month who will then get that 20% from each post for the Saloon each week at the end of the month on top of their share of the pay each week. Along with this, I will be resteeming every artist picked to play at the Horns Up Saloon.

Now with that said, here is the breakdown of the rules for playing. There will be a minimum of 3 songs played and a maximum of an hour of play time. There will also be only 3 artist chosen to play every week. I will start of with an audition post in which I will choose who will play that week. If interested in playing, you will post your music in the comments of said post. It doesn't matter what form this audition takes. It can be a full blown steemit post of your own, a youtube performance, soundcloud, etc. 

The performance on the day of the show should be a recorded YouTube video (or similar video hosting) of the performance. You can be creative and have a backdrops, props, or whatever you feel compliments or entertains. You can be a solo performer or full band, it does not matter. 

What I seek to do with this project is to give people a place to perform without the competition aspect, while preserving a sliver of that with the "band of the month". Also I like to see artist compensated for their work and get publicity in the process. I would also like to, if the venue does well, pay guarantees to each of the 3 performers each week. Hopefully with time and growth, we could achieve such a goal.

The shows integrity will be put intact by the use of the tagline for your performance being (hornsupsaloon) as the first tag in the post as well as in the title, much the same vein as the (openmic) tag.

If anyone has any feedback on this, please feel free to leave a comment in this introductory post. I would also love to hear from already established host in the community such as @luzcypher, @meno, @isaria as well as those connected to these like @soundlegion @passion-ground @verbal-d @krystle @jessmynorchard etc. or anyone else with some feedback to give on my idea.

I will be likely putting the first call for audition up by this Friday.

Thank you my people and steem on my friends and as always

PEACE, LOVE, AND HORNS UP!

Sort:  

Nice nice nice nice!
lml
lml
lml
It really excites me how fresh new and good ideas keep rising in steemit, this is just starting!

Yeah I see massive growth coming on here and happy we're both part of such a thing

What an incredible idea that will add value to the community. It should entice musicians from all over the world evoking quite a variety. Great work, sounds fun!

I hope it does very soon. It may take some time to get going, but I'm sticking with it.

Sticking with it is the key to success. Most contests give up too early because it takes a while to get it going. I think this is a great idea and I'll help you promote it.

Yeah @luzcypher is right... very dope idea. I started #got16s when the rapchallenge took a break... only had 3 contests while we waited for it to come back. It's very time consuming. But stick with it, this is great!

I really appreciate it man. I've seen a few go down now as well before their creators gave them a real chance. I'm real happy you like the idea.

Awesome idea! I'm not sure I follow, though - is the audition and performance a separate thing? Or will you compile several videos into one post per week?

Thanks!
They are separate. The audition post is for posting a sample so that I can pick up to 3 to perform a full set on the performance post. I hope that makes sense.

And then is the performance a live stream?

Although it'd be a killer idea for me to edit all three performances into a live video stream production in one post, There's no way for me to stream live from my homestead. I live too far out in the wilderness.

Gotcha, I think I follow. You already know I'm gonna audition :)

nice idea, very brightful, and i wish you success with this, i will participate so i should be wishing us all success. ☺

Thanks, and I like you wish you and all the entering musicians much success

Brother, here we are attentive to your call. We appreciate every initiative! horns up, team!

Awesome and thanks :)

its a great job

I love this idea! It puts more spotlight onto single performers as I feel with the recent growth spurt of openmic, I can't keep up with watching all of the contestants per week. Are you thinking of original music only, or a certain genre? I would love to participate but I can hardly play one song without messing up, let alone three. So I might just sit back, order some whiskey and watch ;)

Originals, covers, whatever, just put on a show for the community. I do see that open mic is exploded and continues its exploding in growth, which is awesome. I see in time the need for several music "venues". I myself enjoy playing live shows and hell even then when we mess up the art comes in when covering it up or compensating on the fly for the fuck up. I've even heard the likes of Dimebag Darrel fuck up live. Anyway, it isn't exactly "live" It may take a few takes to get it as perfect as possible hmm? Otherwise I'm going to be sitting back as well to enjoy with some Evan Williams and some leaf.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lk666 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That is great!! Another awesome place for musicians!! Really great iniciative !! Can’t wait to see it come to life!! Thanks a lot for creating it!

Thank you and you're welcome. Hope to see you put on a show as well.

yes!! i am looking forward to it!

I'm in brother :) , great job!! \m/

Thanks my friend. I can't wait to see your performance 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93