HOP UPDATE, GET READY TO BREW

in #hops6 years ago

With my son Derrick stringing lines for the hops to climb while my granddaughter Peyton takes a nap.

IMG_0087 (2).JPG

These pictures are taken by the garden, one in early spring and one yesterday.

P1220024.JPG

P1220390.JPG!

Hops at the corner. These vines have climbed more than 30 feet.

P1220421.JPG

P1220417.JPG

From these pictures you can see the hops starting to develop. They will be ready to pick at the end of August. This year, for the first time I will try fresh hopping. I have been making home brew for about ten years now and will post when I go to harvest the hops and when I brew. Hope you enjoyed. Thanks Bob

P1220395.JPG

P1220392.JPG

Sort:  

Love the look of the hops when they first start to grow those little suckers! Lets get malt!

Hell yah!

I remember you telling me what kind of hops they were but can't recall.

When I planted the garden this year, I fully intended to get some hops going. Then the rest of the garden distracted me and I didn't get to it.

I am googling it now but what are the Swede's tips on getting started in growing them from scratch?

Hops I believe to be Cascade, but not entirely sure. We believe that the hops that we found on the property were planted back in the early 1900. The region I live in was known for growing hops commercially. I have spoken to several of the old timers in the area and they have told me that many of the early settlers of this region planted hop gardens for their own consumption. Thanks for the upvote
Bob

Hmmm......wonder how I will start growing hops here. If it were as easy as grabbing and planting a tomato plant then I would be rolling in hops.

My upvote is only worth a couple cents presently but you have it on any of your content for sure.

Thanks,

As far as growing hops, they are a rather sturdy plant. From my earlier blog there is a picture of some rhizomes which I dug up. I could have replanted them several days later and they would still thrive. A great site for details on types, planting, care, etc. is modernfarmer.com. The hop beds that I have established need to be thinned every couple of years. By thinning you literally pull up the roots to the plant and cut back. Whenever I do this I have hundreds of rhizomes. About 10 years ago Ryan and me started a small business selling rhizomes, labor intense little profit. Now we grow for fun!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40