Why do we believe?

in #hope4 years ago

Believe, an easy word to use, an even easier word to say. But each user of this word has a different meaning for it. For example I believe in myself, I believe in God the Father, I believe in Allah, I believe that the Greek gods are real. I believe that my test will go good today. But this small, easy to use word, wrapped up in a box of a thousand meanings, as mentioned above can have different meanings.
To a non believer, someone who doesn't subscribe to the idea of a greater creator, someone who trusts science with very good reasons, belief seems stupid. Ever wondered why we believe? Is it out of fear? Out of love? Out of habit? The answer is all of the above and so much more. I believe that the reason we believe in a greater creator can be all of the above reasons, but i think we believe for one reason in particular. Hope.
Now there's a word that every corny movie ever has used at least once, but what does it mean? Why am I telling you this? Settle down and open your heart and mind to my next few paragraphs.
Hope keeps us alive, hope helps us fight, we roll out of bed in the morning hoping for our wife or girlfriend to have a cup of coffee waiting for us, we hope that we'll get that new promotion. We hope all the time, now hope and belief go hand in hand. We believe in our respective religions and greater creators all because of hope. We hope that the world we live in today, filled with an awful virus, racism, tons of conspiracy theories, and people abusing their power, will fade away eventually and that when it fades an ultimate prize for some, a second chance at life (the after life) will be ours. We hope that this world filled with heart ache, blisters, and pain will eventually fade away and a place of peace will become ours, that for once fear won't exist, racism will be dead, and a virus that slowly wipes out people will no longer be beside us.
That's what it all boils down to, hope. Are we stupid for hoping?
No, we aren't, no one is stupid for hoping because when the world turns dark, when people die, when innocent blood is being spilled, hope is the one thing that will get us out of bed. Hope will drive us to fight, it will drive us to live, and ultimately, it will drive us to love. So why don't we as a human race agree on one very small thing, to keep hope alive. Now sure everything I have said seems sappy, it seems to be filled with all of that girly crap most of us don't enjoy, but what I said is true. Take it from me, a depressed student who suffers from a fear of death, hope has kept me alive, and it will keep you alive too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65