The Blonde in Africa (The Pokémon flashback for a while)

in #hongkong7 years ago (edited)

16ED87FB-57A7-47CE-B80C-893E86743F2C.jpegWhen I was 7 y.o., me and my parents were in Egypt for couple of months for work. I remember white BigTop with dragonflies sitting on ropes and scarabs crawling on the ground. I liked to catch it. I remember big fridges full of overdue meat for lions and tigers. The meat was expensive as hell. I remember local boys with the names ‘Muhammed’ chasing after me and my friend Yuna. We were of the same age. After Entracte we always ran and took the last rows in the Chapiteau watching big cats performance in the manège. It was cute and thrilling at the same time🎪
I remember one small shop with my favorite Cheetos on the way to work. The owner always gave me 2-3 more packs of ketchup for free. I also put it into fries my mom cooked for dinner. Every evening after work my parents bought me a fresh mango juice meanwhile they drank reed juice as it was more cheap. I didn’t like the taste of reed. Sometimes we went to markets nearby. There were big jaws of a shark hanging at the entrance. I still remember that smell in the air mixed of fish, meat, fruits and vegetables, but it was different. There were big cages with chickens and you had to point at which you gonna buy. Such shops were dirty of blood and feathers. We went to the big market on the other side of Alexandria. I saw a Pikachu-backpack I liked. I asked my parents to buy it but they tried to save money that time and I understood them. I learned to prioritize things around.
I remember that feeling of crazy heat with sea breeze on the beach where it’s 45-50 degrees. It wasn’t allowed to put on general swimwear. My parents wore trousers and t-shirts to swim in the sea.
I remember McDonald’s where I couldn’t stay for more than 10 min as it was freaking cold because of air conditioning. First time I heard a song Simarik by Tarkan there. The only moment when I forgot about how cold it was. I didn’t know the name of the song, but I liked it much. A few years later I heard this song once again...ohhh I remember that feeling. It was a little flashback again to the time I spent in Africa. 😊

Sort:  

what a blessed memory you have.
Merry Christmas to you and your wonderful family

Thank you Kate! I’m pleased to hear such comments :) Merry Xmas to you too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65