Honey: The Liquid Gold | Historical Context Series : Part 1

in #honey6 years ago

I have started to take an interest in Honey after hearing a lot about its medicinal properties and the historical context behind it. I would like to start a short series entitled "Honey: The Liquid Gold" which showcases the historical, scientific and medicinal context of honey.

What is Honey?

honey_wordmark.png
Art by Jeroen van Eerden (2017). from dribbble.com

To those who are not familiar, though I doubt it, honey is this sweet, golden, viscous substance produced by bees through enzymatic activity in the bee's stomachs. I will go over this one in the next article. Honey is usually stored in waxy structures called honeycomb which houses the honey for the bees.

History

Honey has been around the world since time immemorial as delectable byproducts of bee metabolism. It wasn't until around 10,000 to 8,000 years ago that humans started to collect honey from bee nectar for our own personal consumption (Danovich, 2013). Humans started to take an interest in this golden liquid for the first time after seeing it in wild bee's nest. And who wouldn't? Considering its appetizing consistency and golden appearance, any person who thinks of honey as one foreign substance would surely take an interest in it. The first recording of honey and beekeeping was found in Valencia Spain, evidenced in cave paintings (The Honey Association, n.d.)

385px-Cueva_arana.jpg
"Man of Bicor". A depiction of a painting found in Cueva de la Arana, Valencia, Spain

I guess even ancestral men found immediately that honey could be used for the purpose of making life a lot more "sweeter" for mankind. Since then, it has been collected by ancient humans for food, medicine and other uses which they will soon discover.

The oldest known honey remains were found in jars in Gerogia at around 4,700-5,000 years ago. Some jars were even buried with a person. Ancient beliefs dictate that a person must take something valuable to him/her to the afterlife, implying the valuable nature of honey during their time. As far as I know, honey was sought after in the olden days believing that it was the cure to death, the syrup to afterlife (Kvavadze, Eliso, 2006).

MTMwODE4OTMzNTQ3NjM1OTg2.jpg
image source

Now the ancient Egyptians were a lot more creative and used honey not only for food, although they did use it to sweeten their cakes and biscuits (Wikipedia). Archaeologists also found evidences of honey in tombs as a means for embalming the dead and for mummification/preservation (National Geographic, 2015). This was the time where the secret of its long shelf life was discovered.

Medical-Practise-in-Ancient-Rome.x34319.jpg
image source

The Romans were among the civilization who discovered the medicinal and healing properties of honey. Hannibal, a great roman warrior, was said to even give out honey to his soldiers in battle to heal their wounds once the war has ended (HeathmontHoney, n.d.).

In religious context, honey is also mentioned as "A Gift of God". In Exodus 3:6-8, Israel was thought to be the promised land because of its abundance and prophecy of peace and prosperity in the area. I quote "It is a land flowing with milk and honey", and was used as a reference to bring out the children of god from the Egyptians (source). After the establishment of the Catholic Religion, the demand for honey and beeswax plummeted greatly in order to meet the demand for church candles in ceremonial and ritual usage (HeathmontHoney, n.d.).

Thank you Steemit users! I hope you gained a little more insight of the versatility of honey. We will talk more about it on the next parts of the series.

Sort:  

I could remember when I was young, my teacher do give we athletes running for the school honey to lick to enhance our performance..honey contains flavonoids, antioxidants which help reduce the risk of some cancers and heart disease. Recent research shows that honey treatment may help disorders such as ulcers and bacterial gastroenteritis. Sincerely, you did a great work.. Never knew any story about it not until I read this post.. Nice post @jassennessaj

Wow. It's amazing to hear and read your story! :)

I really had not so much idea about this, it's been helpful, thank you

Glas it helped you my friend :) Thanks for the visit.

Alright dear, I will always, it's barely a week I joined the steemit family, I'm already enjoying the benefits in so many ways

Uu nga , grabeh talaga ,meron ding mabibigay satin kalusugan ang honey, salamat sa pag remind , matagaltagal na din ako d nka inum nito

Lubos din ang aking galak na nakatulong ito sa iyo :)

Honey plus Lemon..ooolala! Nice post!

That's a cool combination :)

more healthy more honey, strong antibiotic :)
keep the post helpful..

Yes. Thank you for sharing your thoughts :)

When growing up my parents frown at sugar, honey was the only sweetner I knew and I was pissed. When I got older I learnt a lot about honey and it uses. And I was glad my parents made me take honey. I now prefer honey.

nice articel, very informatif and helpful, thank you for @jassennessaj

it is also a good supplemental vit. for my kids!and thats what mywife called me.(just kidding)
@jassennessaj

Nakaka mangha ang tagal tagal na pala ng honey na kinukuha nung unang panahon
Napaksarap malaman 😊😊😊 tnx @jassennessaj

Have you watched "Rotten"? It's a docu-series on food malpractices and controversies. They have an episode where they explained the World Honey Industry. It's quite distributing. I recommend you to watch it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50