I think I did the right thing, What would you have done?

in #honesty8 years ago (edited)

On Friday after my hubby had finished work we went round to the hairdressers where my daughter works, I arrived early so decided to go to the Butchers directly opposite to get my meat for the week and fill my freezer. I usually buy quite a bit, I would rather use my local butchers than a big supermarket because the meat is so much nicer plus our local traders need our business.


Like I said I bought quite a but but when the butcher added up my total £29.50 it didn't sound right, I said " I think your robbing yourself" My Hubby gave me such a look
They used the calculator this time He said I'm sorry its £39.50 They thanked me loads for being honest. I paid the amount and left. Hubby said why did you do that I said because its only a small shop, £10 to them would be a big thing plus it's happened before


I had gone to my local newsagents, bought a few things then shoved the change straight into my purse without checking. Around 6pm that evening I got a knock on the door, It was the lady who owned the newsagents, she said I gave you the wrong change I was a bit in shock really, so went and got my purse pulled out the crumpled money to find she head given me a £5 too much, I handed it back feeling humiliated then shut the door. I wasn't going to go through that again, plus mu daughter worked opposite the Butchers they might have humiliated her. I would do it again

What would you do?

Sort:  

I am ultra busy in real life lately, so i am giving away free resteems to very few ultra high class steemians, you are one of those steemians. Thank you for making the platform great ! ! !

If i cannot post at least i can support quality people...

Ahh your so sweet thank you. hope everything is ok :)

Oh everything is more than ok thank you so much, just not enough hours in the day : )

Glad to see things are ok :)

My daughter used to work at a huge multinational takeaway joint. Think of the company mostly blamed for the world wide obesity epidemic and you will have that company image.

Her shift supervisor stole enough cash to buy herself a brand new car after four years. Each till of money is signed out and at the end of the shift as long the till balance is within 200 $ cash of receipts this is acceptable.

Simply every shift depending upon the operators she would steal 50, 100 or 150 cash. Thus the count was mainly always within the audit trigger balances.

a brand new car . . .

crazy and wrong ! ! !

Totally wrong, greedy bi**ch

yes it is always wrong to do the wrong thing simply because you can hopefully not get caught . . .

So very true :)

I would have done the same thing. People are flawed - we all make mistakes and need to each other's backs. So you did the right thing.

Thank you. My conscious is clear :)

I would have done the same! In my younger years I worked in a shop and every time my till was not correct they got really mad at me! Lucky for me it did not happen a lot and the amount was always low but still. I also agree that for a little shop ten pounds is a whole lot of money! I believe you really did a great thing! And to reply on the fact that the woman came to your door.... It can happen, I think I have gotten too much money back at times as well. You don't always watch and just put it back. So, I do believe you conscious is clear!

I felt awful when she came knocking I felt like a thief. She was ok about it but to find out where I live made me feel bad. I didn't shop there for a long time .

I probable would have done the same again, not shop there for a long long time. It's weird huh, that we can feel so guilty for something we don't even knew we did.

Its how others treat you. I was shocked she came to my house

That would have freaked me out as well!

I always double check my change now lol

All i have is my word and my self respect, plus a pair of shoes. If i sacrifice the first two things i may as become a politician ; )

I would vote for you :)

I point it out there and then a few extra pounds in my purse isn't worth someone losing their job because the till is short.

Exactly how I feel :)

I would do the same too

Nice to read all these lovely people think the same as me :)

I would have done the same. I am too honest for my own good sometimes :-)

I would rather be honest in this situation, I wouldn't be able too go back as I would think they knew

Was going to blather about social contracts and how people get fired for their tills being over and under, but a wave of emotion came over me. Money will always be rooted in memories of my Grandmother Mid, an old biddy from Hannibal, MO. She retired after thirty years as a waitress. I look back fondly of her teaching me how to give change. She always said its not just about making sure people don't cheat you, but you don't cheat people.

Thank you @karenb54

Love and miss you Grandma

Your welcome and thank you. Your Grandma was a very wise lady :)

I'm pretty sure that the woman who asked you for her mistaken changed back was more humiliated. Most people would have told her to fuck off and not returned it. Same with the butcher, most people would just ignore the error that's in their favor. It's all a balance of greed versus morals and in your case your morals outweigh your greed.

I would feel guilty forever if i hadnt have owned up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84