You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HonestBot Mission Statement

in #honestbot6 years ago (edited)

Hi @wilfredn.

I'm powering down the bot because all profits are paid out to delegators proportional to their delegation. So HonestBot doesn't get any share of the rewards from having 1000 SP in its wallet. Basically, I made a mistake by investing 1000 SP directly into the bot, I should have kept it all in my account and delegated it. I'm powering down, then transferring the money back to @sethlinson, then delegating it back to HonestBot. And yes, curation rewards are locked into the system as SP, and I'd like to "earn" those profits too.

APR will change depending on the changing values of Steem and SBD. The average seems to be somewhere between 40% and 50%. If APR is all you're interested in, you may have better luck with a different bot. HonestBot loses a lot of potential profit (that would be paid out to delegators) by its guarantee of profitable upvotes. We return a good number of the bids we receive because they exceed the limit.

So here's the short answer: you might make more money elsewhere, but if you believe in what HonestBot is doing and you want to support it and help it grow, please feel free to delegate!

Sort:  

Hi @sethlinson, thanks for the reply. That makes a lot of sense!

I've done a bit of research and a few posts on upvote bots before, and I'm firmly against how some of them can profit at the expense of users who are not familiar with how the payout system works. I agree completely with what @honestbot is trying to achieve, and think it's a necessary next step for upvote bots.

I'm low on SP now, but am thinking of investing some Steem into the platform, so expect to see some delegation from me in the short future!

That's awesome! Thank you in advance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73