You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gluten Free Series Part One: Why I Eat Gluten Free

in #homsteading6 years ago

Gluten free soya sauce! It's really in so many things! I think there's a misconception that gluten free has to be gross or tasteless, etc. I gotta say, i hate pancakes- but gluten free rice pancakes are so good. (As one example)

We are not completely gluten free. Like you said, no celiacs here. Lately we have been enjoying a lot of oats with the berries we have been gathering. I wonder, have you found a good source for gluten free oats in our province?

Look forward to reading more about your sans gluten adventure. :)

Sort:  

Yes! I remember buying tamari because it was wheat free soy sauce. The taste was awful and it was so salty. I paid a fortune for it and probably hucked it the same day. We visited an Asian supermarket called T&T in search of a wheat free soy sauce. We discovered they have two soy sauce sections; one for South and the other for North. Anyway, I found one advertised as "vegetarian" which is hilarious because what soy sauce isn't? Anyway, it was wheat free and simple ingredients and it tastes great!

I haven't tried rice flour pancakes but I will have to look into those. I used to make a flourless pancake that was a bit more like a crepe but still delicious. Hmmm... Maybe this will be a post one day.

I haven't looked for a specific gluten free oats. Because I am not celiac I don't fret too much over "may contain wheat" because it's usually trace amounts. I buy the PC Organic oats but I don't eat them often. They haven't seemed to cause any problems for me.

I hadn't planned on posting gluten free content but this article kind of set a fire in me. It's been so well received that I may do more gluten free articles.

Well, if you made it through this mini novel or a response, thanks! I will stop monopolizing your time and let you get back to your darling Elves now. Cheers, Aimee

The soy sauce! 20180729_201006.jpg
20180729_201020.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65216.94
ETH 3531.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44