WHERE IS MY HOMETOWN

in #hometown7 years ago (edited)

images-1.jpg
SOURCE

Oh! My foot hurts badly
I think I've lost my way in my own land I'm so weary
What happened to those trees?
And those sparking streams
That stood as land marks

images.jpg
SOURCE

What happened to the market places
With business women wearing smiling faces
What is this desert I see before me
Is this my hometown I was so proud of
My hometown which words could not qualify

images2.jpg
SOURCE

What happened to those children
Who danced and played when it was midnight
Who had no fear for thieves or kidnappers
Whose parents slept peacefully
Leaving the young ones under the nights safety?

images3.jpg
SOURCE

Those children have migrated as youths
In search of greener pastures
What about those old chiefs
That gathered under the ancient tree
To drink and mock till stuporous stupor

Those men are all dead with the earth's clods
Covering their dead bodies,
Mocking them for dying penniless

IMG_20171203_164204_488.JPG
SOURCE

Where are those monkeys?
Where's my childhood papoola
Those little primates who shared the children's joy?
Those monkeys were killed due to the outbreak of Ebola...

TO BE CONTINUED...

COMMENT
UPVOTE
RESTEEM
FOLLOW FOR MORE...

Sort:  

There is no place like home. We oftentimes need retrace our steps backward to check on our place of heritage.

pls pls pls pls

never ever leave such interesting works half done...

not safe for my literature-loving heart.

nice one bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57