Plans on building a mediaserver

in #hometheater7 years ago

I am planning on building a computer to run a mediaserver. I am still not quite sure which components to choose so if you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them down below in the comment section. The software that the pc is going to run is Plex mediaserver. I heard a lot of good things about this software so I want to try it out. The pc I want to build, needs to be low budget because I don't want to spend a lot of money on a server for video and photo files.

Plex mediaserver


First of all, the software needed to be compatible with Apple and Windows. Because my parents are also going to use the software, the software needed to be simple and straight forward to use. I searched online and found Plex mediaserver. It has a simplistic user interface on iPad and can store videos and photos, just what I needed. The only thing I'm not sure about is the hardware requirements of this server. It needs to be able to stream for 2 clients at the same time. Somebody who has some experience, using Plex mediaserver?

Hardware


This is a list of the hardware I want to get for the time being.

  • Intel i3 8100
  • Asrock Z370M Pro 4
  • 8GB HyperX RAM
  • 2x 2TB Western Digital Red
  • 60 GB SSD from Corsair
  • Corsair CX430

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53