You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Start Of Fall Garden Clean Up & How My Mint Transplant Is Fairing

How wonderful, a fresh start for the next crop! Your potato box looks awesome! How deep is it if you don't mind me asking? I'm hoping to have a better plan for my potatoes next year and might use the cold months to build something good!

Do you do anything with your corn stalks? crafty things? I was hoping to have enough to make some husk dolls or a basket but I didn't know how to dry them properly and they rotted in the garden dew.... Just curious if you had a plan for recycling?
Thanks for sharing your day with us, I enjoy your posts so much!

Sort:  

I make potato boxes and raised planters during the winter as well. I have found this year I have had success with 2ftx2ft x2.5ft tall, and leaving an open bottom on them (used cardboard as a weed barrier). I got a pretty good crop halfway though the season with my one batch and will be pulling my other batch soon.

Oh thank you so much! Do you layer plant throughout the season, or just have multiple boxes? I'd be interested in seeing how you made your, if you left room or removable boards to pull taters out or if it's a box per batch? How well do they drain?

The container was gifted to me by our neighbors. Only the four sides, no bottom.

Drainage doesn't seem to be a problem, considering the downspout for gutter is right there.

I use multiple boxes (2 this year, moving to 4 next year). I do plant them on the bottom layer, then actually once the leaves are coming up, I add more mulch/compost/soil mixture (about equal parts), and allow it to grow upwards again before repeating. I will be re-making some more this winter with tutorials on how to do it (photos if @mwoodall will take them while I work). Drainage is not an issue at all, as the bottoms are open. You can have removable planks, but If you do not seal them, the wood will swell so once you remove them, you will be hard pressed to get it back on. Sealing them is key I find

yay! a build-along!! I'm down for some quality learning!!

Oh gosh I love that term! A Build-along! Now I am excited to move my wood workshop into the basement for the winter.

ha ha me too!! (she said, eager to start her own projects!!)

The depth is about 18". This is the first time potatoes have been in this box so I am so hopeful for a decent crop

I'm hopeful too! Either way, I bet your taters do much better than mine!! Did you use dirt from around your property or start with a planting soil? Just curious? sorry for all the questions!

Just started with regular potting soil. No chemicals.
On the bottom i put top soil about 10 inches. I know kinda backwards but it's all I had on hand at the time.

Hey you make do with what you got!! Thank you for the information. I'm plotting and planning now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43