You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Start Of Fall Garden Clean Up & How My Mint Transplant Is Fairing

Love the idea of bringing some inside. I am personally experimenting with that with our bell pepper plants, and have brought one inside after treating it for any crawlies that might try to make their way into my indoor plants. Another one I found that is seeming to winter well inside is any Strawberry plants. I trim the runners, and root them inside during the fall. Still deciding if want to have them in a hydroponic set up inside, or a cascading soil based one.

With the corn stalks you pulled, are you drying them? I have been wondering about drying mine and using them as a smoker chip during the winter for smoking meat for preserving. Also I am really curious, what zoning are you in?

Sort:  

I didn't do anything with the stalks this year. I had way too much on my plate. Maybe next year I will dry and save them for crafts or something. This was the first year I grew corn so it was an experiment for me.

Same, very much an experiment for me also. Haha, only half of my cobs developed. Not like 2 out of 4, but each cob only had 1/2 of the corn in it. This years drought did not help at all.

You know, I had a problem with that too. What is wrong with the gardening eco-system this year.
I've had problems, and heard of many others too, that the tomatoes aren't ripening... hmmm... so weird

Not sure, I know mine was mostly a water issue. Corn being such a water heavy crop, it needs to be well watered for cob development I have been told. As I mentioned we had a horrible drought in Saskatchewan this year (yet also flooding in some areas). few farms only got 1 or 2 cuts this year, and now it saddens me to see that people are having to give up some livestock because they won't have enough feed to get through the winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44