Ozark Critters - Young Eastern Fence Lizard

SAM_2549.JPG
Sceloporus undulatus

Meet the Eastern Fence Lizard! You may know her as the pine lizard, prairie lizard, grey lizard, fence swift, or northern fence lizard. They are fairly common across many states and are listed as a species of least concern.

SAM_2552.JPG

This ones is a young lizard. The young of the species resemble the females so I can't really say if this is a male or a female. Fully grown lizards can be 4 to 7 and a half inches long!

SAM_2554.JPG

I found this little one when I glanced outside my back door and saw something on the back porch. I was surprised at how long it stayed still for me, even when I came out the door and squatted next to it.

I hope you enjoyed meeting this little one! Thanks for looking. Stay tuned!

All photos taken by me using a Samsung WB1100F camera and edited using paint.net.

Sort:  

I never see them here, although we are supposed to have a couple different kinds in Wisconsin. Cute little fellow!

They're really well camouflaged and fast so I'm not surprised they're hard to find. Maybe our winters are milder than yours so they overwinter better? We have had really mild winters for a few years and I feel like I'm seeing more and more of these guys.

it looks like it can jump far

That is a little one, lol. I like the Eastern Fence Lizards. They seem to not be so afraid of people as other lizards. I like watching them do pushups, too. Take care of all your lizards! :D

They are the only ones I can catch. I would have caught this one as it was a little chilly out and he didn't move quite so fast, but I was afraid I would squash him in my attempt. Their pushups are adorable! So funny! Thanks, @haphazard-hstead.

Lizards have it tough enough already -- so yours gets to keep its tail another day! Yay! ; )

So cute. I LOVE lizards. We don't really have many species here, and especially not widely seen - they're normally restricted to heather and coastal habitats. Would be great to see more.

Great photos. :D

Thanks, @brimwoodfarm. I see two or three different kinds pretty regularly, but they're so fast I can't catch them or hardly get a photo. But I will continue to try! Hope things are going well. :)

They are thanks. I know what you mean....when I do see one (and it's rarely), they're SO fast I never get the chance to take a photo!

Your lizard is so cool looking!! I'm jealous!!

Yours was really cool too! and you got close-ups. I should have caught mine and put it in your garden so they could be friends!

If you do catch it, We should do another photo shoot with birdette and her man tony!! Think the lizard would get a kick out of it? Then we can make a little reptile home in your green house with a little table and a toilet.... Okay we need some props from your daughters barbie collection!!

We have at least one of these guys hangin around our house...

We have lots. They like to hide in the cracks between our logs.

Very cute looking fella, and also nice pics capturing him! Did I tell you I really liked posts that introduce a species? Well done!

Many thanks, @stortebeker! I'm glad you enjoyed my post.

Nice post bro ;)

upvoted

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This is my first look at it thanks for sharing @hethur240

Thank you for the resteem, @aborjin! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44