Indoor Winter Garden Update: Two Weeks In & Already Having Positive ResultssteemCreated with Sketch.

My View

outside.jpg
View from outside my back door. The woods that line the back property line

You can already see some of the autumn changes happening. Leaves have fallen or started to change colors. LOVE this view
1.jpg
We have had three days in a row, and four more expected in the upcoming days, of 85-degree to 92-degree days coming. I'm hoping the last of my (green) tomato crop will pop and I can can some spaghetti and marinara sauce soon. These warmer temperatures are not seasonally right. We should be having cooler nights and days in the upper 60s or low 70s. And the humidity levels have been out of this world! So ready for autumn weather!

Indoor Winter Garden Update

I planted these herbs two weeks ago and they have sprung to life so good! I am so happy with the results so far.
We have echinacea, comfrey, catnip, summer savory, lemon balm and basil.
In my last update the comfrey hadn't even sprouted yet, but now one week later, it is growing the tallest of all six herbs and plants.(Well, only two haven't sprouted yet, but I know they will). Grow baby, grow!
seed tray.jpg

Since taking this picture early this morning,I moved this tray to my office where I have south and east facing window in the corner of the room so they can get some natural sunlight instead of being under the grow lights all the time. Now when I work, organize and pay bills, I can see all my beauties as they grow.

New Additions To The Indoor Garden

Last Wednesday, I planted four Beefsteak tomato seeds, four Mesclun Greens, two chamomile and two oregano seeds into pellets. As you can see three of the Mesclun are growing already. Waiting for the others to rear their beautiful sprouts.
mesclun green.jpg

Not only will the WONDERFUL taste of fresh garden tomatoes be in my future, but I can update everyone as to the progress of this indoor winter garden experiment I am attempting to conquer this year.

Herbs, Herbs & More Herbs

My potted marjoram that had been growing in the greenhouse all summer was brought in last week. And so far it has taken to the location change quite well. I just harvested two dehydrator trays-full last week and this is where it stands right now. Fingers crossed it continues to produce through the winter months I just love the dried leaves in my herbal teas. Such a sweet and mellow flavor!
marjoram.jpg

I realized two weeks ago when I planted the seeds for my herbs that I had run out of mint seeds. Crisis!
So, I went outside last week and took a plant out of the front herb garden and transplanted into this deep pot. I have been keeping it moist and spraying the leaves. Don't ya just love the smell of mint
mint.jpg

The plant seems to be adjusting well and I am thankful every day when I water and spritz the leaves as the fragrant scent fills my kitchen.
In another week or two, once I am positive the mint plant will survive from the change, I will be trimming it up and then dehydrating. I want to try and have a bushier plant instead of a tall one.

UNTIL NEXT TIME... HAPPY STEEMIN'!

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

That's some nice progress on your winter garden! It's always exciting to see the new sprouts come up.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

These un-seasonal temps are making everything a bit more complicated for lots of folks. Some good, some not so much, but definitely NOT average.

Nice variety on the indoor goodies! I hope the experiment is a smashing success!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49