First Winter Indoor Garden Update: Look At Them Taters!steemCreated with Sketch.

Indoor Garden Update

Over the last few weeks I have made a few posts about starting my first indoor winter garden. Growing herbs for my herbal teas, having some fresh vegetables and greens through the cold winter months, and last week I planted some seeds.
For my herbs, I did echinacea, comfrey, lemon balm, catnip, feverfew (in its own pot separate from these), summer savory and basil. I will be adding a few more once I get the complete plan in order on where all the pots and containers will be.
The plan is to grow indoors and harvest fresh herbs as needed, then if all goes right and they survive indoors under the heat lights and in the grow tent with light, I will transplant outdoors come spring 2018.

Mustard Greens & Spinach

I have six of each (mustard greens and spinach) that I transplanted into their winter 'homes'.
thumbnail (7).jpg

I start by putting a little (good quality) potting soil on the bottom of the container then adding a layer of coffee filters. Then putting more seed starter soil on top of the coffee filter.
The reason for the coffee filter? My grandma taught me this decades ago when she was still alive and had her garden. She swore that the coffee filter prevented the soil from leaching out when watering. For now I will only be using a spray bottle to water. Once the greens grow more, I'll water normally with my watering can.
thumbnail (5).jpg

Then I add the pellets with the sprouts and cover with more seed starter.
thumbnail (3).jpg
thumbnail (4).jpg

Herbs

thumbnail (8).jpg

thumbnail (9).jpgthe comfrey (second on the right) is a little slower to sprout than the other herbs
I won't be transplanting the herbs quite yet. I want them to grow sturdier and have their roots a little more developed.

Tomorrow I will be experimenting with a new technique to me. Something I have NEVER attempted before. Should be interesting.

So here is what I have so far. Will be adding a few more plants and herbs in the next week or two.
thumbnail (10).jpg

The Great Potato Famine of Michigan

While outside this morning doing some chores, I accidentally moved a shovel I had in the potato container box. And these two beauties popped up... I told my husband I'll make him some homemade potato chips and looked at the potatoes and busted out laughing.

taters.jpg
I got my potatoes in late this year so my 'taters are not technically scheduled to harvest until the last week of October.

I will be updating weekly depending on the growth and changes with the indoor garden; and as I add more variety of vegetables and herbs- stay tuned

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

I can't wait to see how it turns out! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! To say I'm excited and anxious is an understatement.
Will be doing updates periodically

@originalworks

I awaiting. Your potatoes are as big as mine and they were growing for about 2 months. As far as the sprouts, they look like they're off to a good start. Good job.

Yes, I'm very pleased with progress of seedlings.

My potatoes still have about 5-6 weeks until they're ready for digging up. But I'm anxious for them to finish up.

I wish you good luck and a good harvest.

It looks like you have a good start on your winter garden.
I don't have a place in the house that isn't already being used for something else, so I can't set up something like that. I have room in the basement, but it's too cold in the winter. I've tried it down there a couple of years, but I don't get much to grow due to the cool temps.

Some days I wish we had an enclosed porch. Before we moved here in Feb 2016, we looked at another house that did have a 12x10 enclosed porch but the house was TOO big (an additional 500 sq ft) so we went with the smaller home cause we were 'downsizing'. Now I kick myself daily... oh the things I could have done with that porch!!

Yes, I completely understand! I wish we had a sun room attached to the south side of the house.

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Grey thumbnail ...I posted another one regarding this but i will write it again so if you miss the other, Take out the parenthesis ( ) from your http picture address and that should allow your picture to show!
Melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76