UNDERSTANDING WORDS WITH DIFFERENT MEANINGS IN OTHER COUNTRIES.

This morning as I was getting caught up on the great content that my fellow gardening and homesteading friends post, as I have been away this past week, I realized that we all come from very different parts of this great world we live. As I was reading, I saw lots of words that I had to look up or had a giggle from because I would not use that word to describe what it was that they were referring to.

So today I thought that I would write a post about Terms that may be used when reading posts that you or I would not typically use, just so we all do not have to look it up. Now American's and Canadian do typically share in our vocabulary the same words, perhaps not the little things like in Canada we say POP and the American's typically would say cola or soda.

I find that the UK and Australia have similar references as well in reading all your posts. I have compiled a list of some popular or frequently used words that I have read in many posts so we can see the differences in our languages and cultures.

flashlight.png

Flashlight -Used in Canada and The USA referring to a handheld device powered by batteries or other to light something.
Torch -used in Canada and the USA as a tool for welding something or a fire lite pole to light a path outdoors in evenings
Torch -used in the UK to describe a Flashlight.

Jam.jpg

In keeping with the Homesteading and gardening community, I think it is important to include this word. "Preservative"
Are you folks aware that the word preservative in FRANCE is referred to as a CONDOM. Now don't feel ridiculous if you have encountered a conversation and used the word, the french typically know the difference. LOL .....GIGGLING! But coincidentally the UK refer to an eraser as a rubber where as in North America we refer to a rubber as a condom.

underpants.png

Did you know that the word "PANTS" in the UK is referred to as 'UNDERWEAR"? While in the USA and Canada we refer to pants as a long outerwear garment. Interesting, now I know why some of the British people looked at me funny when I spoke about pants and some even blushed.

knob.jpg

Ok this one threw me for a loop. In North American a believe it is fair to say that the word "KNOB" is referring to something like a door knob, a handle of sorts to open something. However in the UK, they do not see it as such. They would typically refer a "knob" as a "PENIS" now I don't know about you but I am sure glad I did my homework on this one as you can really get yourself into a real mess in a conversation about knobs.

football.jpg

In the UK they refer to the game of "SOCCER" as "FOOTBALL" but in North America we refer to "FOOTBALL" as a game as well but only it has an oblong ball that is typically brown, where as a soccer ball is normally black and white.

housecoat.jpg

In Australia the folks would generally refer to a "HOUSECOAT" as a "DRESSING GOWN". But interestingly the UK also refer to a Dressing gown as a housecoat.

There are many other words that North American's and the UK tend to see differently. Here are a few more. An "apartment" in the USA and Canada is a "Flat" in the UK. The word gasoline in the USA and Canada is referred to as "Petrol" in the UK. When we say "Potato Chips" here in the USA and Canada, the UK will say "Crisps", a "Boot" typically in Canada and the USA is a item you put on your feet to go outdoors, while in the UK a "BOOT" is referred to the "trunk" of a car. Here is an interesting one. Lastly, North American's refer to a "FART" as passing gas, but in Sweden and some other European countries the word "FART" refers to "Speed" as in a speed bump on a road sign. Absolutely interesting!

Well there you have it folks. Some terms that you might want to understand before using them in posting your replies to some great content posts. Don't get caught like me and embarrassed. LOL

It's Monday lets have some fun!

Happy Trails

Sort:  

well it is of some confusion wouldn't you agree @edthecanadian lol giggles.

Talking about the trunk / boot of the car, you may also mention the hood / bonnet. While 'the hood' may also refer to neighborhood, in certain neighborhoods. ;-) Also, the lift / elevator, wrench / spanner and many other words that became common after the industrial revolution, though separately in the US and UK.

True there are many that I did not discuss. But thank you for pointing it out and now other readers can view these as well.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gardengirlcanada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice post my friend..i like it

Yeah ...it's fun! Now I can only imagine how many I make mistakes in my posts , other people probably don't understand me. I need to be careful with different words. Thank you for this information @gardengirlcanada

Happy Thanksgiving. Thanks for setting us clear on some terms that could get is in trouble in other countries...lol

Ha. Fun post! And yes, knob DEFFO means penis over here, aka 'knobhead'.

I had never heard that before so it was an education for me. LOL and yes fun

love it! made me laugh!
Melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11