Insects on the Homestead - My First Attempt at Insect Identification

in #homesteadphotography6 years ago (edited)

insects2.jpg

I was born and raised in a city. Never spent much time outside with nature. Insects were just considered pests and did nothing but annoy me when I was outdoors. I would have been perfectly content if all insects disappeared and never came back. I didn't realize there were good or bad insects. To me, all insects were bad and unneeded.

The desire to take more control of my life lead me to start growing my own food. As you can imagine, that required me to be outdoors amongst all the insects. At first it was annoying and irritating to have bugs flying and walking all over. But, I quickly learned to live with all the living creatures in my garden. I even learned to identify some of the insects as good insects. I have grown to love the time I spend in the garden, talking to plants, playing with lizards & toads (and sometimes snakes), observing all the animals and insects finding homes in the food forest my husband and I created. It made us feel good to know we are doing our part and have provided a small habitat for all living things.

I always carry my camera or phone with me to the garden, so I can take photos of whatever is in the food forest. This also gives me an opportunity to identify the insects later.

The theme for this week's Homestead Photography Contest hosted by @knowledge-seeker is "Insects On The Homestead".

white_space.jpg
I will show you photos of insects that are currently in my food forest.

white_space.jpg

insects3.jpg

white_space.jpg

Insects Currently in My Food Forest

Of course I have the usual lady bugs, bumble bees, praying mantis, etc. I did not take photos of those. I took photos of insects that I am not sure about, so I can try to identify later. The names given to each of these insects was done by internet identification and may not be fully accurate. But I think if they are not identified exactly, they are very close.

insect_inthegarden1.jpg
Gray Hairstreak Butterfly

Gray Hairstreak Butterfly (Strymon melinus)

The photo above shows a Gray Hairstreak Butterfly resting on a calendula flower. There are a lot of these lovely gray butterflies in the garden right now. Apparently, they are one of the most common hairstreaks in North America. Their caterpillars can do damage to food crops. According to InsectIdentification.org:

The caterpillar of Gray Hairstreak Butterfly feeds on the flowers of legumes and member of the hibiscus family. This makes Gray Hairstreak Butterfly an annoying pest to bean farmers. Two to three generations are born in a year which likely aids in their prevalence. They are most active from late spring to early autumn.

divider3_space.jpg

insect_inthegarden4.jpg

Fire-Colored Beetles (Pyrochroidae)

The photo above shows a Fire-Colored Beetles on a calendula flower. It has round, large black eyes that are at the sides of its head and black & orange legs. According to Jim McClarin on Bug Guide,

Male pyrochroid beetles seek out blister beetles, climb onto them and lick off the cantharidin the blister beetles exude. Not only have these beetles developed a resistance to the cantharidin, they use the blistering agent to impress a female of their own species who then mates with them, whereupon most of the cantharidin is transferred to the female in the form of a sperm packet. The eggs the female subsequently lays are coated with cantharidin to protect them from being eaten before they hatch.

divider3_space.jpg

insect_inthegarden11.jpg

Tumbling Flower Beetle, Flower Fly & Flesh Fly

I planted yarrow as insectary plants to attract beneficial insects to patrol the food forest. Insects of all kinds love to overwinter and take refuge in the fern-like leaves. All the blooming yarrow flowers are covered with flying insects of all sorts right now. We identify the tear drop shaped beetle as Tumbling Flower Beetle (also called pin tail beetle). The insect in the bottom left of the photo is a Flesh Fly (I think). I noticed some Flower Flies on the yarrow flowers as well, but was not able to capture them on my camera this time. There are so many more flying insects on the yarrow flowers right now. They are tiny, so I haven't been able to take a good enough photo in order to accurately identify them.

divider3_space.jpg

insect_inthegarden7.jpg

Honey Bee

I know I said I didn't take any photos of bees, but I had to snap this one. It looks too pretty not to share, so here it is. Just a honey bee hard at work. So many of our food crops need to be pollinated in order to produce. With the increase of herbicide / insecticide use and the monoculture method of farming, there has been a serious decrease in the number of bee colonies and bees.

divider3_space.jpg

insect_inthegarden8.jpg

Acmaeodera Mixta

A friend who works at a Department of Wildlife Conservation helped me id this insect.

divider3_space.jpg

This is my entry for this week's "Insects on the Homestead" - homestead photography contest.

If interested, you can read more about the Insects on the Homestead #homesteadphotography contest.

white_space.jpg

All photos come from my food forest
Photo copyright: @thelaundrylady

Thank you for reading my post. I am glad to find like minded people on Steemit! It's a community I am happy to be part of. If you like my post, please upvote, resteem and comment. I would love to hear your experience.

I am so honored to be an official passenger on the #ecotrain, a group of great people who are working hard to make this world a better place. Check out the previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain.

white_space.jpg

etrain.png

Sort:  

Did it have wings? Could it be a hoverfly of some variety?

It looks like some kind of a beetle. I sent a pic to a friend who works at Department of Wildlife Conservation. He is my go to guy when I can't figure out the name of an insect. He has always come through right away with names, but it seems like this one might have stumped him. I am hoping he can figure it out in the next couple of days. I will update my post with the name if he does :)

Tag me if he does?

It's Acmaeodera Mixta

I love the thought of you creeping around the garden, camera in hand, taking photos of insects!!! A lovely post.

By the way, if i looked like i refollowed you... im not sure why I wasnt following. I was cleaning up my list and things went a little haywire. Xx

Hey there, it's cool. I did some cleaning up and have done that myself. I am glad you are following me :)

I love the insects thank u!!!

nice job id'ing! i see so many insects and i don't know what most of them are. quite happy to see so many pollinators on the regular though :)

Thank you! There are so many different insects I only took pictures of the larger ones. Some are just too tiny to even bother with identifying.

You have taken some really nice photos @thelaundrylady! I like how you have taken the time to identify them and talk a little about them. Great Job!

Thank you so much for hosting the contest! You ask great questions with #homesteadphotography. Love seeing all the entries.

nice, I am a big fan of insects, where would be without them all, they are one of our life lines for sure. Really enjoyed getting to see some of the ones that grace you with their presence xx

I am learning to love all the insects for sure (well maybe not mosquitoes, lol). You are right, where would we be without them! Thank you for stopping by.

Great post, this is something I've been trying to do also both with insects and plants I'm unfamiliar with. really enjoyed this and your photo's are amazing

Thank you. It's not as easy as I thought it would be to identify with pictures. Maybe I just need more practice.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T18:58:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83