Keeping Up on the Homestead.

I love the photography contests.
Goodness knows I'm not the best photographer but with a cheap cell phone I am trying my best to share glimpses of my world with you and having fun doing it!

I was looking around the farm for @knowledge-seekers latest contest. Purple I needed something purple.....
IMG_20180718_085213.jpg

While I'm doing chores I'm scanning everything....
Wow my cinnamon Basil is pretty and there's a hint of purple mixed with bumble bee.
IMG_20180716_103611.jpg

But I also noticed I'd been so busy keeping the garden and critters watered in this heat while keeping an eye on my beautiful new chick and oh the guineas I realized the grass needed cutting and had had some weeds taking over.

Oh well, if your gonna grow weeds at least grow pretty ones IMG_20180722_091118.jpg

@SugarCreek

Sort:  

howdy today @sugarcreek! lol. yes, you grow some beautiful weeds over there! not bad photos either!

I'm tryin lol
Thank you

I love all the homesteading and permaculture posts I'm coming.ing across today. Thanks! :)

It's a blessed life and I enjoy sharing

It's been my experience that most "weeds" are useful in some way or another. Everything from ragweed to Plantain to Purple coneflower (Echinacea). It generally depends on the person's perception of what is good or bad, useful or useless.

That is so true. and honestly I let it grow up sometimes so I can forage for my critters and myself

I came to your post because @coinsandchains featured your post in the Payitforward curation contest. His post is located here;
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@coinsandchains/payitforward-week-17-my-entry

The Payit forward curation contest is located here;
https://steemit.com/contest/@thedarkhorse/looking-back-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-17-c280a606eeb7eest

Thank you for your support

Oh well, if your gonna grow weeds at least grow pretty ones

totally agree with this one! you know what? sometimes in different countries (mine is Indonesia) something you called weeds will become ornamental plants for us.. LOL, and I'll be glad to have that purple one, indeed. I grow some weeds too.. but not that Illegal weed called Canabis Satyva or Ganja ..hehehehe. Some weeds also useful for herbal medicine (I'm hunting for echinea for so long and couldn't make it untl now) and funny that you grew brazilian basil and some people think it's weed too. thanks for sharing.. and thanks to @coinsandchains who has featured your post in the pay it forward curation contest this week.

Thank you, I agree I forage our weeds for myself and my animals many are quite useful.
I will give thanks to @coinsandchains I'm so humbled by the support.
And thank you for visiting me @SugarCreek

I agree. If you are going to have weeds, they might as well be nice to look at. Great photos and nice job with your entry!

I am so humbled with first place! Thank you so much!

I found your post because @coinsandchange featured you in the pay it forward curation contest. Nice weeds :)

Thank you!
The contests are fun.
I appreciate you stopping by to check it out. I'm just learning so much wonderful content!

It's my pleasure @sugarcreek; there really is a lot to learn here, isn't there?! 😅