How is Your Garden Doing?

Big garden crop May 2018.jpg
Big garden fence finished

I actually started working on my veg gardens in February, even though I live in Western Mass. I had to remove and replace the perimeter fence and worked whenever the weather was warm enough.

Big garden - left side crop May 2018.jpg
Big garden – l-r: rhubarb, comfrey, onions (behind comfrey), garlic May 11, 2018

Big garden - potatoes planted1 crop May 2018.jpg
Potatoes planted but not mulched May 11, 2018

But through April the weather was never warm enough to actually plant the gardens. I was only able to start planting a couple weeks ago. Potatoes can go in as early as April 21st, weather permitting, but not this year.

Small garden - celery replanted crop May 2018.jpg
Celery replanted due to crop failure

Small garden - peas up crop May 2018.jpg
Peas up in the Small garden, Anne raspberry in foreground

But I’ve been working every spare moment that the weather allows and I’ve nearly caught up. As of May 18th the Small garden is as planted as it can be until May 31st, my last frost date.

Big garden - kale mulched crop May 2018.jpg
Kale in May 16th

Big garden - artichokes mulched crop May 2018.jpg
Artichokes in May 16th

Big garden - brassicas planted and mulched crop May 2018.jpg
Brassicas planted May 17th

Big garden - mid rows planted crop May 2018.jpg
Beets, celery, dill, hollyhocks planted, rest prepped for planting May 18th

Cold frame with new covers crop May 2018.jpg
New cold frame covers

My husband built 3 new cold frame covers this week so that job is done.

The Big garden still needs carrots, cabbage, and Swiss chard planted, and the potatoes mulched. Then I will wait until May 31st to plant the rest.

New Herb garden - before crop April 2018.jpg
New Herb garden waiting attention

While I wait I will tackle more of the flower and herb gardens. I managed to get most of 4 of the 37 flowerbeds cleaned out. But before I work on any more of those, I will have to clean out, plant, and mulch the New Herb garden.

Kousa dogwood crop May 2018.jpg
Kousa dogwood, planted as a 10” seedling in 2015

Mountain laurel buds crop May 2018.jpg
Mountain laurel buds, will be lots of flowers this year

Old cold frame full crop May 2018.jpg
Old cold frame full of herbs and flowers

The cold frames are full of things waiting to be planted in all gardens.

V garden - star of Bethlehem crop May 2018.jpg
V garden – Star of Bethlehem

South - wood hyacinths crop May 2018 .jpg
South garden – l-r: hollyhocks, wood hyacinths, lily of the valley, geranium, thyme

South Herb garden - chives flowering crop May 2018.jpg
South Herb garden – r-l: thyme, chives, rose, Joe Pye weed

Old North - Jacob's ladder crop May 2018.jpg
Old North garden – l-r: hybrid spiderwort and lily of the valley, Jacob’s ladder, lesser celandine, bloodroot

North Corner - lily of the valley crop May 2018.jpg
North Corner garden – white lily of the valley

North Corner - yellow primroses crop May 2018.jpg
North Corner garden – yellow primroses, anemones

New North - Virginia bluebells crop May 2018.jpg
New North garden – Virginia bluebells and Solomon’s seal, spearmint

New North - sweet woodruff crop May 2018.jpg
New North garden – sweet woodruff, Solomon’s seal

New North - pink lily of the valley2A crop June 08.jpg
New North garden – pink lily of the valley

So that’s how my gardens are on May 18th .

Sort:  

Very nice. You will get great growth when it all grows in full. Hay is fantastic. I take all the old hay and compost it and it makes a very nice dark nitrogen rich soil after it breaks down.

Excellent!
You have very nice gardens. Love the hay idea, I read that in your post the other day.
My garden will be planted this weekend! :)

good work..thanks for ur nice habit....

Hello @goldenoakfarm!
I found this post while going through the #ladiesofsteemit tag which is new tag for me, I just discovered it.

Anyways, I really enjoyed your garden post as me and my family have our own garden and, living on the countryside, we always did but I just really got interested in gardening this season. I just took some pictures today for another garden update.

You have a nice selection of veggies, herbs and flowers there and I see you have a lot more waiting to be planted.

Have a lovely weekend! :)

I had no idea you had such a wide variety of flowers in your vast gardens. I'm really impressed by the sheer abundance. Thank you so much for sharing with us!

I love your garden! Beautiful!

Everything is looking great! I am kind of jealous of your herb garden. This is the first year, we have several herbs planted. Last year, we tried cilantro and it was a great success. So this year, we have about 8 or 10 different ones we are trying. Should be fun. Great Job!

I must say that if it were not for my helper friend, I would not have one. He did all the really heavy work. But now it's up and going and doing well in its 3rd year. Just finished planting a new thyme bed in it with 33 pots I had started.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58