My homestead photography entry for week #4

in #homesteadphotography6 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @knowledge-seeker for this wonderful contest. For week number four the theme is Goods Made on the Homestead

On our homestead I make custom knives and other sharp art. I collect random discarded or forgotten steel and breathe new life into it. My high carbon steel blades are fully heat treated in my homemade forge. I try to use as much repurposed wood for handles as possible.

My entry here is a custom piece that ended up in Texas. It is 1/4" thick high carbon steel, moderately distressed. The handle is repurposed red oak with steel pins. If I remember right it is about 10 1/2" long. The sheath is 8-9oz. cowhide. Hand stitched and patterned. Thanks for checking it out.

https://steemit.com/homesteadphotography/@knowledge-seeker/homestead-photography-contest-winners-week-4-and-new-theme

I hope you enjoyed my entry and my craft. 🙃

Sort:  

Beautiful work. I am grinning deeply at those pics and you can guess why...hugs
I was talking while making dinner last night about the new handle for grandpa's knife...

Oh yeah! I should be working on handles later this week....I am sure we can get it in for a tune up haha

Wish I could make something that nice and useful. Beautiful work. Where did you learn this craft? 🐓🐓

Thank you! Years ago I went to school to become a machine operater and workint metal, so my science was all metal related. Through the years my art has grown to include metal, a few years ago I started knives and now it is an art outlet for me

Beautiful knife. Do you sell your knives?

Thank you! I sure do. I am currently making 2 neck knives for a fellow steemian.

https://m.facebook.com/ReawakenedCreations/?ref=bookmarks

I currently have a fun one I would sell for steem.

Thanks for the link. I would love to have something like that made for my boys. Will keep you in mind. Thanks again

Oh yeah! Stay tuned, in a few days i am hoping to make a post about the two i am making now.

Those knives look amazing! Quality work.

This is a really cool entry! I always like the look of hand crafted knives and sheaths and, just by looking at the pictures, I can tell that you are very good at making them. Sometime in the future, I may see if you could make one. Great Job!

Thank you! I do love knife making. I love taking nothing and creating something! I will gladly make you something sometime!🙃

Cool photo dude!

Thank you.

That's amazing. I'm always in awe of hand crafted knives. The quality is always a touch above.

Thank you! I try to create something I haven't quite seen before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48