Homestead Photography Contest: Food and Recipes

How could I not participate in a contest like this!

I made a delicious Irish Stew with Lamb two nights ago and would love to share my recipe.

20180116_175629.jpg

Irish Stew

Ingredients:

  • Three lamb chops
  • One tbsp bacon fat/butter/oil
  • One onion
  • Three potatoes
  • Three carrots
  • One cup of peas
  • Three cups stock or broth
  • Three cups water
  • One tsp flour
  • One tsp parsley, one half tsp each salt, pepper, thyme, celery seed, and curry powder.

Method:

  • In a large pot over medium heat brown the lamb chops on both sides in your chosen fat.
  • Chop onions and veggies while lamb is browning.
  • Remove lamb from pot and set on a plate to cool a bit.
  • Add onion to pot and brown
  • Add spices and flour to to the pot and cook about a minute
  • Add all other veggies to pot along with liquids, bring to a boil on high then turn to medium low and simmer
  • Cut the meat from the chops and add it to the simmering stew. I added the bones back to the pot as well for more flavor.
  • Simmer about 30 minutes and serve!

Now for the photo version...

20180116_162415.jpg
browning the chops...

20180116_164224.jpg
all done! Outta the way...

20180116_162504.jpg
get in there onion...

20180116_163141.jpg
you too spices...

20180116_163201.jpg
add some flour because an old stepdad said so...

20180116_163519.jpg
ready some carrots and previously made bone broth!

20180116_164025.jpg
lovely red potatoes...

20180116_163719.jpg
into the pot with you!

No picture of measured peas. So sorry.

20180116_164517.jpg
chop meat off bone

20180116_172552.jpg
simmer simmer...

20180116_175629.jpg
Tada! Delicious and nutritious. Such a nice meal for a very snowy day.

I hope you enjoyed the recipe and the pictures.

Thank you for running this fun #homesteadphotography competition @knowledge-seeker.

Much love,
amy.jpg
banner by @soulturtle

Sort:  

Oh my that look like my kind of stew. Delicious!!!

oh, this looks so rich and hearty! i adore seeing how other people cook and eat, and learning more about spice mixtures and ingredient ratios. i would have done one carrot and more onion, plus celery - all personal taste preferences (or what's in the fridge at that given moment).

It was very hearty :) Yeah whats in the fridge is my usual cookbook, haha. I WILL contribute to your soup challange too very soon :)

no worries - and honestly, one of these upcoming challenges is going to be a "clean out your fridge" soup!

This stew looks so amazing and I feel like my tastebuds are in overdrive right now! I have only tried lamb for the first time a few years ago...gosh, was I ever missing out! My husband and I have started the "new healthy eating thing" and this looks like an amazing receipe that I will be using for my family! Thank you so much amymya!

Wow, this looks good! I liked that you included the steps and pictures of how you make your entry. My mouth is watering just looking at it. Great Job!

Thank you! It was super delicious :) I was hungry all over again writing the post!

Looks soooo good!! Nothing beats stew in the winter:)

Ohhhh yeahhh

Looks soooo good!! Nothing beats stew in the winter:)

Wonderful post!

Thank you :D

Looks yummy! This is what I am making tonight :)
I do mine in a crock pot so I can work while it cooks. Things I do differently is that I don't brown the chops, I just toss them in the pot bone and all...and I add fresh celery but no peas.
For spices I just add salt, pepper, and basil...and if I am making a thick stew I take some of the broth after a few hours and make a little flour paste, add more broth to make a gravy and pour it back in the pot. Then let it cook a while longer.
Just before adding the gravy I cut the meat off the bone and cube it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65