My Most Embarrassing Homesteading Story... I SHOULD Have Known the Difference!

Have you ever experienced a moment in life where you realize you overlooked some pretty big clues and feel pretty dumb about it? Well here is my story leading up to my embarrassing mistake!

Response to @kiaraantonoviche Homesteading Challenge #2:


So it started out on a beautiful fall day! We were going to the Local County Fair! There were so many different animals to see, from farm animals to exotic petting zoo! We can't forget the yummy junk food, funnel cake is my weakness! We got to watch a 4-H goat show and see all the winning ribbons on the poultry! We had a blast, watch a little if you want below!

What happens at the end of that Day at the Fair is where the story really starts to get interesting! You see, we had been trying to get some fertile quail eggs so we could hatch them and start our own breeding program. There is high demand for quail eggs! We could sell to all the chefs and restaurants!

At the fair, there was a huge display of day old Quail! I oohed and aahed over them! I joked to Ryan that I wish they were for sale! The boy next to us said, "They are for sale at .50 cents each!"! We jumped on that! $10 spent and 20 quail babies going home with us! We called it Ryan's Birthday Present that was a week away!

IMG_20160921_212104907.jpg


So we knew quail grew very fast and would be laying eggs as soon as 8 weeks! We loved watching them grow and change! There are different kinds of quail and they look a little different as they grow up. We failed to ask what kind we bought but it didn't really matter because they all lay eggs right!? Well soon the feathers were in and I was so excited because they were so pretty! I never knew quail could be so pretty! I mean look at them!

quailpartridge.png


So now I started getting curious what type of quail they actually were? They are so pretty but still not laying any eggs. So I went to Google images and searched "quail". I saw nothing that looked like ours! Hmmm, that's strange... Then what do I have here!? They were quail when I bought them! So I searched "quail like bird". BAM!!! There they were! NOT QUAIL at all BUT Chukar Partridge!? WHAT!!!???

All this time I just thought I had some pretty variety of quail! I felt so dumb! I had been talking about my quail in my daily vlog on youtube and now I had to confess to my viewers... That was a hard pill to swallow, to admit how I had been wrong all along! HOW EMBARRASSING!!!

Thank you for reading and watching Wholesome Roots!


wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg

Please Upvote, Resteem, and Reply down below! Thank you!

Sort:  

Lol! We all make mistakes. Will they lay eggs too?

very few eggs, I was hoping for more...

That sucked! But we know how thrilled you get over animals, so no one can blame you for your momentary lapse of excitability over sensibility! Live and learn. Isn't that part of homesteading...and Life? :))

yes! lol! thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wholesomeroots from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

They honestly as babies, seem to look no different than other quail I've seen!! Haha. The kid's a jerk for not setting you straight!

lol! exactly! but it was a grown man who did the selling all the while calling them quail!!!

Oooooh THAT'S EVEN WORSE!!

I must have missed that bit of news :( but at least you have some neat birds and some egg's to try out should they not all turn out to be males :D I sure hop that's not the case :/ thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest :)

it was last fall and winter lol

hahaha oh dear, well we live and learn right? They are pretty bird none the less. Thanks for the story, gave my a smile and a reminder to look before you leap so to speak! Have a great day :-)

Thank you @kiaraantonoviche for this great idea!

You can put em in a pear tree and sing the 12 days of Christmas..that will make one funny video and steemit post! LOL..sorry to hear about you getting hoodwinked. Maybe they will taste good? Hmmmmm fried partridge? Sounds delicious! ROTFL!

thats the plan, lol!

Well...did they taste good when they were roasted?

we have someone interested in getting some and whatever he doesn't take will be processed.

You still get eggs though right?

hardly! one here and there... they are not prolific layers to be sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39