HomesteadingChallenge - Why I started a Garden

homesteadingchallenge.jpg

Some will never care. For my husband and I, it was no different at one time. When it was time to eat, our choices were basically unlimited. What's for lunch..., what's for dinner..... and so on. Being trained, or programmed to believe in a system where literally everything you put into your mouth is considered food, makes life so convenient. Whether the ingredient list contained hydrogenated oils, artificial colorings, or claimed to be 100% organic, it was and still is accepted as food by the majority. But as time passed by, that "food" we were so happily ingesting started to affect us in ways we could and couldn't see. Once into our mid and late 30's we began to notice we weren't young anymore. The part of our bodies that used to deal with the brown bag special from Sonic or filter the gallons of corn syrup didn't seem to be functioning as they once did. Bloating, cramps, and other effects from our designated foodstuffs was making us rethink what we were doing to ourselves through eating.

homesteadingchallenge3.jpg

Seeing an opportunity to start a new business, we took the risk. The new job would have us setting up shop and life in a rural area around North Texas and Oklahoma. Having lived in neighborhoods all of our lives and now experiencing a much more open community, as found in most small country towns, we started to see things differently. On any given day during the Spring through Fall months, it is almost impossible not to see a few home gardens as one takes a drive. These gardens were very appealing to me and gave me incentive. Then, after a few years of getting our business and lives established, we started a garden of our own. Ok, it was really only a raised bed or two and maybe a couple of trees, but to us it was a garden.

peach_harvest_june_2nd_2.jpg

It has now been six years since we broke ground on the first raised bed. Our bodies have become accustomed to the real food we pick and dig from our plot. Not only have we decided to dedicate most of our free time to gardening, but also to learning why it is important to a fulfilling life, at least in our opinions. Not that everyone has to, or needs to have a garden. It's more along the lines of what having one can and will do to make one feel healthy and energy strong. Physically moving throughout the processes of building and maintaining a garden, as well as the nutrients we all gain from it, are more than enough reasons to build and maintain one. It has become tradition to expand the garden every Spring, or at least plant a handful of pollinator attractors or really anything beneficial. Basically, we started to understand how time is the best friend of the garden. It was very important to us to build beds and plant trees every year. But just as important not to plant too much. Because as we all know, we only learn more with time. The passing of the seasons will grade your work and give you advice. You just have to pay attention and observe. Looking at our garden as a canvas with no plan to complete, but rather just keep adding allows us to brainstorm throughout the year. When we started, we knew nothing about gardening. Now, after six years of hands-on experience and listening to hundreds of others with a similar mindset, I now know enough to share with others.

We are doing our part in trying to make this world a better place. Sharing some of our garden / homestead photos taken in the last couple of years below. Thanks for stopping by.

homesteadingchallenge4.jpg

homesteadingchallenge5.jpg

April18.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for participating in the #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner has just been revealed in the announcement article! Have a great day!

Your garden is so neat and organised, and I envy it! I wish we had more time in ours.... :)

Your dog is adorable!

Thank you! He loves to help out in the garden.

Awesome! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

Thank you for commenting to let me know! Can't wait to see what others submit. Thanks for the opportunity!

I love your garden! There's certainly no better feeling than eating the food freshly harvested from your garden. I agree that once you've tasted freshly grown, it's hard to enjoy anything else. You are truly blessed to live in a warmer climate than me! Lovely images and it's making me hungry just looking at them 😊💖. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for stopping by! I know how fortunate I am every time I walk around my garden. Not everyone who wants to gets the opportunity to grow their own food. I had to wait patiently for the last frost date to pass(April 15th). I was jumping out of my chair with excitement when my Summer crop babies were ready to go outside. I can't imagine living in an area where warm weather arrives so much later. I need my garden therapy, lol.

It is fairly warm here, but super windy for about six months of the year. The summers are warm with the odd hot day, but typical to Britain it can be fairly rainy too. The growing season must be similar to yours. Forgive my ignorance because I thought you lived in a warmer zone lol. I do agree, I know in places like Scandinavia they rely heavily on greenhouses. We are very fortunate. 😊 Xx

I am in Oklahoma. I can't live any further north than this, lol. Happy gardening with your cute little one!

Such true words. We do get programmed by convenience and few of us question what we put in our mouth. Sounds like you have a special life. Beautiful garden. Our homesteading journey has also been 6 years, but we are challenged by a terrible drought (We're in South Africa)

Thank you. We are very fortunate. I am sorry to hear gardening has been challenging where you are. It must've been difficult. Your homestead looks wonderful. I have started following you, so I can see your progress. Love your Bird of Paradise photo!

Thank you. We have a lot to learn from each other

You call it a garden but to me that is the start of a food forest. I see a bunch of fruit trees, I think I see comfrey and other perennial plants.

You are right. I called it a garden when it only had two raised beds. It has now grown to almost 1/3 of an acre. I should really start calling it a food forest. That's my ultimate goal anyways. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69