Homesteading Challenge #3 – My Favorite Livestock

in #homesteadingchallenge7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Homesteading Challenge #3 – My Favorite Livestock


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Excellent! You've been entered into the competition! Thank you!

You know I never thought about worms and how we could make them work for us. this is a great post now you have me thinking.

Oh they are super useful. And living in the country you don't even have to do too much to attract them: they migrate from all around to a delicious pile of rotten fruit or manure. You could capture them for a bin, or even "free-range" them by just maintaining a working compost.

Wow..I always knew that worms suck out the dredge and enrich soil superbly with their excretions..

But you spoke about them with such respect, familiarity, and love!! I couldn't help thinking warmly about them and how their 9-weekly doubling in numbers really a welcome infestation for top quality soil.

they eat up to half their weight in a day Wow, that's impressive. Who'd have thought that of a worm!!!! I should think their guts are huge and take up most of their body length.. =P

Yeah, their metabolism is off the charts! Could you imagine me eating 30 kg in a day, or three ten kilo meals? That's what I always like to remind people of whenever they mention that I eat a lot. ;-)

HAHAHAH that's exactly what came to mind when I read your article..I was calculating 50% of my weight...no wayyyyy..hahahha

You got the perfect excuse now..no wonder you remember the details of these wormies so welll!!! teehee

I love it! It such a great entry my friend.

Thank you! I feels so nice seeing that this short article, thrown together in the last minute, is being received so well. Really appreciate it!

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like the way you make worms look good ;) And I totally agree that worms are an essential part of our life, yet we never notice them. Thanks for this enlightening insight under ground.

Yes, they've got it all figured out: doing there work in secret, where no one is aware of them. Then they get a good laugh at us simple people who look at our fertile soil, thinking it just happened.

Well written! I think you have some pretty handy creatures there! I didn't know they ate half their weight every day. I read somewhere that some sparrows (or some other high metabolism tiny birds) do as well

Well, with birds, especially small ones, it kinda makes sense: they have to move so much just to fly around. But worms... well, ... makes me wonder where all that energy goes.

You are so clever my friend. Only a true homesteader would have come up with this post. Be well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65