Sort:  

I LOVE that resolution, and those are all great projects! (I laughed at “oh, and birth baby #2”). I’ll be especially interested in the bees and herbs since those are (hopefully) future projects for me as well!

LOL, Thank you! Yes, I can't wait to get those herb gardens back in shape. We have Astragalus, Echinacea, Elder, Monarda, Skullcap and some others (hopefully) still there, but struggling to compete with the invasives!

Great post and perspective on pacing oneself! Those of us with that homesteading mindset are very driven to check off those projects from the to-do list! I'm wound pretty tight most days but my lovely wife reminds me that 2018 will not be the year that EVERYTHING gets done! This year is going to be different in so many ways!! ALSO...I'm a beekeeper too. The best and fastest way to learn is to recover them from peoples walls, barns, swarms, etc... This way you get real survivor bees that are used to being able to take care of their own Beesness (see what I did there?)! It hard work but rewarding to know you saves bees that otherwise would have been poisoned or destroyed in some other way. (you can also make some coin doing it)

That is great advice, sweet you're a beekeeper! I took a class a few years ago and walked in knowing nothing, and walked out ready to go bop a hive into a cardboard box... LOL. I have forgotten everything. But I do believe there is a registry in our area that we could get on, to have people call us to rescue hives. Good idea! Can't wait!!

We took a year long beginner course from a local guy. He is totally treatment free and so patient and helpful. We enrolled in the advanced beekeeping class this year to conclude in a few months! Its also less painful if you find a mentor to guide you through all the potential pitfalls.

awesome. and very sound advice! Looking forward to it!

Awesome! Finishing old/already started projects is always a good idea and something I struggle with as well haha! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

Thank you! I agree, and this is a first, for us!

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Thank you!

the lushness of color in the first two photos appeal to me... good word on bees!

Thank you! The first photo is from CC, but hopefully once we get our own bees there will be many pictures to come! and the second photo is ours, taken at a State Park in peak-Springtime!

oh, I meant the first 3 photos, now that I think about it. :) Thanks for sharing. It is that second photo that strikes so!

I love it! And can resonate so much! Finishing is just as (no, probably more!) important than starting :) we are learning this too and are (going to try) to keep the expansion minimal this yr lol

It is so important... I am so excited to renovate our herbs gardens!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51