Venison burgers! A favorite recipe from the homestead

This week's #homesteadingchallenge sponsored by @kiaraantonoviche is to share your favorite recipe from your homestead.

IMG_1015 (1).jpg

I don't know if I get any more homestead-y than deer burgers made from venison shot a couple hundred yards away and processed right here by the handsome Husband and the cutie pie Pixie....

23621475_10213342908278487_645932969920554476_n.jpg

....served on sandwich buns homemade by Momma....

IMG_0997.jpg

And I don't get any more favorite-y than a super easy meal that my two picky-pick children will gobble up. Venison is something they've heartily approved of since they were babies--and as a result, they don't like ground beef! (When they were just beginning to talk, they said "dee-mee" for "deer meat." It was sooo cute!)

For the venison burger, I stick with super simple:
1 pound ground venison
~1 T Worchestershire sauce
~1 tsp hot pepper sauce
Fresh ground salt and pepper
Maybe a little garlic powder (though I left it out this week and the Husband, not knowing that, told me they were the best burgers we've ever made, lol)

Mix all together, form 4 patties, and grill till cooked through. You can pan fry them too, but grilled is so much better.

IMG_5387.jpg
The kids get their patties on little plates because they prefer their "dee-mee" bunless

As for the buns, I use Belle's Hamburger Buns from Allrecipes.com, but I make the dough in the bread machine instead.

INGREDIENTS
1 cup milk
1 cup water
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
5 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 (.25 ounce) envelope active dry yeast (Same as 2 and 1/4 teaspoons, and I use bread machine/quick yeast)

1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon water

DIRECTIONS
I skip step 1 and 2 of the original recipe. Instead, I put all ingredients except the egg yolk and 1 T water into the bread machine and set it on the Quick Dough cycle. I take it out before the final "rise" stage (right when it finishes kneading) and pick up at the end of step 2, here: Place the dough in a greased bowl, turning to coat. Cover and let stand until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
3 - Punch down the dough and divide into 12 portions (The recipe says they should be a little larger than a golf ball, but mine are like 2x the size of a golf ball). Make tight balls out of the dough by pulling the dough tightly around and pinching it at the bottom. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil. After the rolls sit for a minute and relax, flatten each ball with the palm of your hand until it is 3 to 4 inches wide. You may want to oil your hand first. Set rolls aside until they double in size, about 20 minutes.
4 - Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Mix together the egg yolk and 1 tablespoon of water in a cup or small bowl. Brush onto the tops of the rolls. Position 2 oven racks so they are not too close to the top or bottom of the oven.
5 - Bake for 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Remove the rolls from the oven and return them to different shelves so each one spends a little time on the top. Continue to bake for another 5 to 10 minutes, or until nicely browned on the top and bottom.

Some random notes on what I do different:

  • I make the dough balls, throw a cloth over them and turn on the oven because my particular oven takes 15-20 minutes to preheat to 400.
  • Right when the oven finishes heating up, that's actually when I flatten the dough balls, brush with egg yolk, and then sprinkle sesame seeds on them. I made another batch today and sprinkled poppy seeds on some.
  • I ignore the whole part about 2 oven racks because I don't care if the rolls bake together, so I cram them all on one baking sheet instead of using 2 sheets.

IMG_5390.jpg
And since I forgot the "Steemit proof" photo when we made burgers the other night, here it is today!

ENJOY!! And as always, thank you for reading! :)

Sort:  

Yum! That looks amazing! I don't think it gets much more homestead -y than that either! Pixie helping dad in the kitchen is super cute, as is the dee mee!
I did not have time to do a home cooked meal specifically for Steemit this week so I just used photos I took from before... With my cell phone. So they're pretty bad, but the food was great! LOL -Aimee

Aww, thank you! Truth be told I didn't make the burgers just for the challenge...it was more like "hmmm ok what can I make that I know the kids will eat...oh we haven't had burgers for awhile" (cooks burgers) "oh hey wait this could count for the challenge!" 😂

That's some smart mom'ing! You doubled down which you are a natural at, being that you have twins and all. 🤣 -Aimee

LOL!!!! That's a good way of looking at it :)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Awesome! You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

Thank you! I appreciate that you do this challenge for the homesteading community! It's a lot of fun to see what everybody submits :)

It looks so yummy and delicious and for sure I'll try to make it thanks for the post. And may God give long and healthy life to your husband and your family. Your husband looks very a good and great man wish him best of luck

Why thank you! He's a keeper, so thank you on his behalf as well :)

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64