Homesteading Challenge #4: Homesteading HopessteemCreated with Sketch.

When I first read @kiaraantonoviche's latest homestead challenge, my initial thought was that I don't have a homestead bucket list. However, as I thought about it a bit more I started to remember that this isn't true. There was a point where I felt that getting an acreage was possibly within our reach and I had lots of plans, but then things changed bringing me back to dealing with a more immediate future and putting a homestead further into the future. Me being who I am, the way I deal with things that may not happen is by switching that bit off and focusing on dealing with what is within my reach and control.

So first I want to say a big thank you to Kiara for reminding me of my hopes for the future.

orchard-2372731_1920.jpg
source (https://pixabay.com/en/orchard-farming-fruit-agriculture-2372731/)

Trees

I've always had an urge to grow trees, particularly fruit trees, from seed. I'm aware that they take much longer to reach fruiting age this way and that you probably won't get the same fruit that the seed came from, but I don't mind the adventure of seeing what will come as long as I've got the room to plant the adventure! I would have grafted trees too as I think it's important to try and keep the heirloom varieties going.

I'd have mixed fruit orchards and look into what sorts of trees would live comfortably together. It would be great if they all grew well together, then they could be a nut and fruit orchards. Perhaps the mixture of trees would help shield one another from certain pests and diseases.

Poultry

I'd definitely get geese to be guardians and do weed control. I once saw an orchard which had geese and the only weeds left were the ones they didn't or couldn't eat.

I'd also love to be able to take on and rescue chickens. Not ex-battery hens, because while I would love to give some the chance for a better life after what they've been through, I can't justify the way it would just continue to support the industry. I would rather work from the other side and find ways to produce enough of an egg supply from humane farming methods that would make that industry obsolete. So the chickens I would rescue would more likely be from people in towns who don't have the space to keep hens that are no longer producing, but don't want to butcher these girls they've bonded with and who have supplied them for so long with eggs. They could retire into the orchards and help with pest and weed control, continuing a useful life. Meanwhile I'm helping to support city and townspeople in producing their own eggs to help take pressure from the intensive farming industry.

I would also love to be able to be able to breed some of the rarer chicken breeds, or maybe try to create a breed in Australia like the Svart Hona or Ayam Cemani. Of course I couldn't pass up on keeping ducks either!

Livestock

I would like to keep pigs, but I'm not sure if I could manage the large breeds. The biggest appeal for me is there use in preparing the ground for growing and meat would be a bonus, but those big adults kind of scare me!

Being used to multipurposing I'm still not sure if I would get a Jersey cow or dairy sheep. Dairy sheep would also potentially provide wool as well as milk and meat. I should probably try sheep milk before I make that decision though...


You can also find us on:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/minismallholding/
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/minismallholding/
YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCBwcsmyIkW_hIEJdLUSd44

Sort:  

That sounds awesome!

I started my fruit trees in pots from cuttings of my Grandfather's fruit trees 3 years ago. We're renting a house with a yard now so my trees get more sun than they did at the flat. One day when we have our own house I will plant my trees.

If you have yard space you could also keep quail instead of chickens. They need less space and are much quieter so they are well suited to urban spaces.

Funny you should mention quail, I actually already wrote a bit about them!

I hope you get to plant those trees. I struggle to keep anything alive in pots for very long.

I like the idea of rescue chickens, that is one of the things I have on my list - all animals/livestock would be adopted, not bought, and preferably rescue cases! You've been entered into the challenge! Thank you!

Thank you.

Yes, so many animals get early slaughter or die from neglect that it feels like it makes more sense to rescue those rather than just breed more. Not that I don't also want to breed, but I'd put that space aside for rescue.

Love your approach. Very humanly.

That was a wonderful post...I really love the part about a retirement farm for chickens. :D Such a fabulous idea. :D I think sheep would be interesting, but probably only because, we've never had sheep here. :D

Just a heads up, for your future pigs and piglets...they are escape artists to make sure you build your pens/fenced in areas really, really well...or you'll be chasing them all over. They are very fast when they don't want to be caught...and they will have a huge advantage if they are out in a wide open area. :D

Hahaha! Thanks for the heads up on that! It's probably funnier to watch than it is trying to catch them.

That is so true...I know I'd enjoy watching someone else trying to catch a pig or piglet more than trying to catch them myself. :D If you ever think about getting goats let me know so I can warn you about them too. :D

Have an awesome day! :D

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I agree with @simplylizell ..try and find cuttings...even total strangers will do that for you.. Go after cuttings that are already bearing fruit as they are part of an established tree and should bare right away!
Happy Day!
Melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42