Homesteading Challenge #2- Funny Experience

My most embarrassing homesteading moment occurred several years ago, and it happened when we just started getting into raising cows. To give a quick backstory, we were wanting to get some cows that we could eventually milk. So, we went to a local dairy and picked up two bottle calves. We kind of put the cart before the horse because we had not gotten our pasture
ready for the cows yet. We would walk them from our barn to small pens that we would move around our yard.

Now, we get to the embarrassing part. These calves were no more than a couple of months old and I thought that they probably had the routine down by now. Well, on this day I gave one of them a little more slack in the leash we were walking them with. Big mistake!

The calf took this extra freedom, and bolted. It caught me off guard and I lost my balance. So, I went face first into the dirt and I made the next mistake of holding onto the leash. At that point, the calf began to drag me for a few feet before I decided to let go.

It would be really easy to say the story ended there, but unfortunately for me, it did not. I quickly picked myself up and tried to brush the debris off of my freshly grass-stained pants, so that I could go and try to get some help to catch this calf. With some extra help and some time running around the big yard, we were eventually able to round up the calf and get her into the pen.

Needless to say that I have learned my lesson from this embarrassing moment. Now whenever there is a leash and an animal involved, I always make sure to not give a lot of extra slack. Unfortunately, it all happened so fast that no one would have been able to take pictures of it actually happening, but I do have pictures of said cows.

Rosey.jpg

Lily.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

What a great post!

I can just see that whole thing in my mind's eye. Too funny. Those are the lessons that stick with us, the ones learned the hard way. Glad all worked out in the end.

Thank you for your comment! Yes it hurt my ego a little bit, but I will probably remember this for the rest of my life. I would not trade this experience for anything!

Congratulations @knowledge-seeker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You can safely say that you have lived a part of every Loony Toon's life! :)

Haha! I guess I never thought of it like that.

Good story @knowledge-seeker this is something I can imagine happening to myself! Did you ever get the invite to the steemithomesteaders slack? You should head on over: https://join.slack.com/t/steemithomesteaders/shared_invite/MjE0NTcyMDc3OTg5LTE1MDA0MDM4MTgtMDdkZDMwYTBmOQ

Thank you! No I don't think I got the invite, so thanks for telling me. I will definitely check it out!

Thanks for sharing this story, @knowledge-seeker. I guess having animals, these kinda things will happen, but we all live and learn. Beautiful calf, by the way. Is she all grown up now, with calves of her own, and milk for you?

Thanks for the comment! Yes these things will happen and I have learned a lot from this situation. This incident occurred a few years ago and we have since sold her to a local farmer who raised shorthorn cattle. We were worried that she would produce way too much milk than we could keep up with, so we decided to try the Dexter breed of cattle because they are more of a dual purpose breed and will better suit our needs.

Too much milk? What about the cheese??? No, I understand. That would have meant more work. Everyone has their own needs, so it's great that there is the right breed for everyone. Nice to hear you found the one for you guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44