Homesteading is important to me because..

in #homesteadingchallenge7 years ago (edited)

We know our food is unfit to eat, our water poisoned, our air polluted.
We are all gears in a machine built to satisfy our desires, delivering an insubstantial illusion of fulfillment. It has gnawed, beaten, and twisted us to fit its inner workings. Succumb to its design, we sell our very lives for $7.50 an hour for the privilege of rotting in front of our televisions.

We live vicariously threw the rich and famous to distract ourselves from our own purposeless lives, all the while accruing debt we can not pay, passing it along as a virus to the next generation who's shackles will be all the tighter because of it. Until all will or want of release has passed, our souls bought for less then what a beggars cup could hold.

But not all,

Some of us choose to stand up, to break our shackles, to give our jailers the royal salute and
go forth our own direction.

We choose the path less trodden, trusting the slow wisdom of our elders. Born of a simpler time when men and women stood on firm ground with eyes to see the world as it is.

We choose not to relinquish control of our lives but to draw a line in the sand, planting ourselves
legs wide on a side of our choosing, throwing our heads back with arms thrust skyward. We proclaim,

"I and my blood choose life! We choose freedom! We choose to depart from you never to return! We choose homesteading!"

At its very core, homesteading is the act of living for a living. I look forward to beginning each day with the sense of purpose it brings, knowing my life is my own and being beholden to no one.. a freedom rarely seen in the world today.

The work is hard and more often then not you find yourself having to make do with little, but both are a price I pay willingly.

My Background

As far back as I can remember I have had a passion for all things growing. This was a result of living beside my grandmother who's passion for gardening is second to none.
She not only introduced me to gardening, but wild edibles at a young age.
We would not only work in her garden together, but scour the neighborhood collecting wild foods such as berries, dandelion, and poke weed. Her influence grew in me and still does.

Many years later, having at this point already a good store of knowledge, I got hired on at an 47 acre inn that had at one point been very prestigious.. As the gardener, the only one!

There was only myself and the maintenance man to keep the place going, but was still the best job I have ever had and indeed have had to this point.
I had an office, my own company truck, a huge green house filled with orchids, and adequate pay..
Alas all good things must come to an end.

I can still remember it,

Me and the maintenance man were taking lunch together as we always did when the death pole sounded, shaking my very core… The inn had been sold and all staff were to be let go. I knew then life was going to get tough as neither me or my wife had any real official education or savings to fall back on.

I was in the green house later that day lamenting our loss, doggedly going forth with my duties as gardener though little point now remained. For two years I had labored on these grounds, but no more.

Wishful thinking ensued..
'I wish.. ' I thought, 'I wish there was a way I could just pay myself to do this work. Then my life wouldn't be subject to the whims of people who neither knew, nor cared for it.'

This line of thought in time lead me to homesteading and while it has been a very long and hard journey, now years later we not only have a functioning homestead but my very own greenhouse. Not only built on my own land, but by my own hands.

storyimages_1340847244_shutterstock75441469.jpg

I choose not to step into my grave, but to step back and let my enemies bury themselves in it. For it's to their design, and their minds are alien to me.

-digger.

Sort:  

It is both encouraging and galvanizing to meet others who feel the way that we do. Both my husband and I see the writing on the wall for the current way society is running--there's no sustainable way it can continue. As former teachers (we quit to homestead!) we also know that WE want to be responsible for the feeding, education, and raising-up of our children. We want to call the shots in our lives, finally.

We moved to our 12 acres (finally!) only a month ago, but there's no other way we could imagine doing life.

That is absolutely wonderful. My parents did the same for me and my siblings. My dad was a teacher and my mom a nurse and retired early to homestead, Bought a 57 acre piece of heaven and have not been happier. Taught me a lot of what I know, but my grandparents taught me quite a bit also. Thanks for sharing and loving your children as I do mine. Like minded folks. Now following

That's so cool to hear it from the kid's perspective, as I only have a mother perspective at the moment! I really appreciate your comment.

I agree! We only have one acre currently but have plans to expand. Were grateful for it all the same this allows us to see what works before we go large scale. We hope to move a little farther out within five years using that time to learn and save! Thank you for up voting and commenting!

We had a "practice" time before we moved to a bigger area of land, too. Every bit of time and experience is useful!

Well written. I love your courageous spirit and determination! There is such satisfaction in setting out towards a dream and getting to see it come to fruition. Thank you for sharing your journey!

it sure is nice to know that there are folks who not only think the same but actually take action and get it done thanks for sharing

We just try to do what we can. Thank you

Congratulations @clarkfarmstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wonderful article! You have been entered into the challenge - thank you!

What a great descriptive "aint nothin but the truth" delivery of your post. I love it and agree totally. Thanks for sharing and having the %%& to put it forth like that.

Thanks! Someone told me it sounded angry, but I was honestly going for dramatic.

I'm writing to congratulate all participants on the very successful Homesteading Challenge. I'm catching up on reading all articles, feeling bad that I haven't done so before, when the up-vote still counted, though still glad I haven't completely forgotten. Because the ones I missed, like your, are turning out to be amazing posts. Your, for example reads like some slam poetry: really powerful words describing the truth in its many shapes. Great job! I'm following you, so I should not miss your next articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40