You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planting Some Calendula to, Hopefully, Combat Root Knot.

Wow your garden looks beautiful! Great info too, calendula has so many uses! I was just listening to my permaculture videos the other day and they said certain helpful nematodes will kill off the pathogenic ones if your soil is balanced, so sounds like your on the right path with that as well. Dr Elaine Ingham is my next area of research, incredible resource!
http://www.soilfoodweb.com/drInghams_cv.html

Sort:  

Thank you. Often I don't always appreciate how good it looks to others because I'm looking at the damage done by pests or know what's going on close up and under the soil. At the moment I feel like my garden is failing in so many ways. Need to approach it as just learning opportunities.

I have come across quite a few mentions of helpful nematodes, but not in any of the Australian information and one article even said there was no real evidence of anything that will predate on the root knot ones. Whether it's just that nothing concrete has yet been found or Australia doesn't actually have anything like that, I'm not sure. It's certainly not going to hurt to improve the soil though!

Thank you for the link. I'll put aside some time to look at that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99