Update On The Farm And Green Room - #HomesteadingChallenge - Starting Seeds - March 14th 2018

IMG_0338.jpg
Fertilizers from Lowes, a weeder hoe and some more potting mix.

A big thanks to @kiaraanotonoviche for an excellent homesteading challenge of starting seedlings!

Went out and got the fertilizers I needed to give my veggies the nutrients they need to thrive this Spring and Summer! Three different kinds of shake fertilizers with varying levels of Nitrogen, Phosphate, and Potash for all the needs of all the different plants to be grown.

Ya know, some one's Mother had said to me this Winter that she was happy for me to start farming my own veggies but that she thought I would have zero success this season..... Well, I haven't actually produced and food yet, but I am hella determined to make some veggies grow.

I eat a ton of vegetables but I feel I could do so much better in terms of eating a variety of veggies. I think planting lots of different veggies, and if successfully grown and harvested, will provide me and my loved ones with the plentiful nutrients needed for a healthy body. No pesticides or added ingredients. Just raw veggies.

So anyways,.... today I used the fantastic idea from @medicinewheel that utilizes everyday household junk to make an excellent seed starter tray! We already had some used buffet trays from over the Summer for big party, and I went around the house collecting all the cardboard cylinders from inside Toilet Paper (TP) rolls. Cut them in half to about 2 inches in length, folded them into squares and placed in the tray. I didn't have enough TP rolls to fill a tray, so I did what I could to secure what I had.

IMG_0339.jpg
The seeds I planted in the TP rolls, Yellow Squash, Bell Peppers, Carrots, Radishes, Chives and Eggplants.

IMG_0340.jpg
The setup for the seedlings.

A little scrappy, but will get the job done.

Whilst outside today, I took the liberty to turn over and fertilize the soil of one of the plant beds. And also fertilized and turned over the dirt inside the box hockey frame. Was extremely windy today, but didn't hinder my work. I also lined the chicken wire enclosure with branches and rocks to further prevent any critters from digging under. Will determine its effectiveness as time progresses.

After I turned over the soil and fertilized it properly I went ahead and planted some broccoli seeds into the freshly fertilized dirt and planter box. Since broccoli is a cool weather plant, I am hoping to see some growth in the coming days and weeks, even though the temperatures are still a bit low for other plants to thrive. Plus, @kelsnm and I eat a ton of broccoli from the grocery, so this would certainly be the cash crop for this household!

IMG_0343.jpg
Indigo enjoying her Stick

IMG_0344.jpg
Lined the enclosure with branches and rocks to prevent digging critters.

IMG_0345.jpg
Fertilized the dirt on the left and in the box hockey's right side box and planted broccoli in the dirt

IMG_0348.jpg
Starting to get cluttered in the grow room.

Hope you all enjoyed my update. Year 1! Of course, updates will follow as things start to happen!

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

Heck yeah! Can’t wait to see this turn into food👍🌱🌳

Looks great, nice garden prep work too! I know the feeling about running out of room, arg! Tuesday is spring, someone just needs to remind mother nature so we can move these operations outdoors!

Awesome! You've been entered into the #homesteadingchallenge - upvoted 100%! Thank you!

You're the bomb! Thank you for your great support! Making the world a better place!

i am inspire about him from your post.
thank you for your post.
i like this gradening.
my gardening flower bro.@biffybirdcam

27858217_10215730520844879_2507636606150418838_n.jpg

Those marigolds look perfect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65