Planting Thornless Blackberries and Black Raspberries With Indigo - April 27th 2018

IMG_1550.jpg

Was a very damp morning with the passing showers and allowed the soil to be worked a bit so @kelsnm and I took at trip to the local greenhouse and snagged us a couple different blackberry baby bushes to get started growing in the back yard!

Picked a spot behind the hugelkulter which I know will receive ample sunlight throughout the day and will drain well on a slope. And I knew the soil itself was a bit fertile whilst digging up bricks in the past, I noticed how dark and loamy the soil was compared to more clay soil nearby. Loamy doesn't mean nutritious though, so I brewed up another batch of soil amendments and worked it into both deeper portions of the dirt where I planted the roots of the blackberry and black raspberry plants.

Tidied up the ground and used the rocks I dug up whilst tilling the dirt as a decorative finish. Gave em a prayer and sent them on their way! Hope to see them grow a bit this season, though I don't expect to see any fruit this year, who knows!

IMG_1544.jpg

IMG_1545.jpg

IMG_1546.jpg

IMG_1547.jpg

IMG_1548.jpg

IMG_1549.jpg

IMG_1551.jpg

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

Awesome! You've been entered into the homesteading challenge, thank you!

I've seen raspberries do well with poor soil and neglect so yours should do great with the extra amendments you added.

Thank you for participating in the #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner has just been revealed in the announcement article! Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67160.08
ETH 3517.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70