Homesteading Resolution 2018

in #homesteadingchallenge7 years ago (edited)

My chickens need a better coop! For the homesteadingchallenge#7, this is what I would like to focus on. I have many projects on the go and will undertake many more before the year is through, but I've chosen this as the important one for this challenge.

My coop was supposed to be a mobile chicken tractor that we would move weekly around our small field. I looked at many designs and plans at the library and online and showed my husband what I wanted. He built me a beautiful little coop, completely predator proof and sturdy. It looked like the pictures. But it is SO HEAVY. Like at least 4 strong people straining to move it heavy. No way it could be moved by me on a weekly basis as I envisioned. Not a big deal, we parked it (after moving it a few times to figure out where we wanted it) and built a large run to try to keep them contained during planting in the spring. They usually find a way out though.

20180105_141953.jpg
The coop

Back to the coop. It's small and not insulated well. I used scraps of wood that we had laying around and enclosed the small original run to add more space to hang out in incliment weather. I took an old set of drawers, put it on its side and turned it into more nesting boxes with an area for feeding on top. I crudely stuffed a few bags of leaves and straw under some thick poly plastic for extra wind and water proofing and to retain heat. It's quite the eyesore thanks to my own mishmashed additions, but it works, for the most part.

20180105_142004.jpg
Side view

But this winter has been COLD. Tonight it's supposed to feel like -24C. I noticed that my rooster and cockeral look like they have frostbite on their combs and I feel like such a bad chicken mom. I will slather them up in some homemade "vet rx" balm tonight, but I know I need to do more.

PicsArt_01-05-02.47.31.jpg
Sad comb :(

I need to get some proper insulation and then shingle the coop. That is my homesteading resolution. These chickens are really important to me. I know they are tough creatures that fluff up and trap heat in their feathers and cuddle for warmth, but I would like to ensure that they are comfortable and that their combs don't continue to get damaged.

20180105_142558.jpg
20180105_142721.jpg
Interior shots

My steemit earnings so far have allowed us to do a better job on our bathroom reno and winning this competition would really help with revamping the coop. I'm going to do this anyway of course, but could do it better with better supplies.

Thank you for the opportunity to enter this challenge @kiaraantonoviche. Good luck with your projects everyone!

If only I could win another set of hands too...

Sort:  

Yes I would say you do need a new one! I could built it for you! Lol good luck on the contest!

That would be so cool. And so appreciated! Thank you :)

Whoa, poor chicken with that frostbite... My chickens have a warm cement coop where they heat it up by being inside all at the same time... no frostbite here :)

I knowwww :( I feel so bad. Mega guilt. Sourcing insulation TODAY. Their bodies are toasty warm, I've checked on really cold nights, so I'm not afraid of them actually freezing to death or anything like that but it just totally sucks that their sticky outy bits are being damaged :(

Yours chickens need to have new chicken coop, the best will be Insulated👍I'll need to make for my chickens new nesting boxes 😊 All the best 😊

Yes, it'll be a better coop soon! They only really sleep in there so size hasn't been an issue. I do know lots of people in Canada have their chickens in uninsulated coops given that the chickens are so good at staying warm... But yeah. I want to do better for mine.

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36