You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "HomesteadingChallenge" #7 Entry - Share a homestead resolution for 2018!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Slovenia is a beautiful country and apparently they have beautiful bee hives although I didn't see any there. I especially like the bee trucks!

Have you looked into the top bar hives? They are easy to build and will give you great experience in "unconventional" bee keeping. Just google "top bar hive." I like this site He's a gentleman after my own heart. Anyway, it's easy to get started at a minimum cost that will get you close to the bees and their needs. Good luck.

Sort:  

Thank you @yulem I would love to see Slovenia some day!

I have looked into top bar hives and they do have a lot going for them! The reason this design is so compelling is that we get long, cold winters, big storms and a lot of snow. I think the Slovenian design could be really beneficial in this type of climate. I am middle aged now 42 (just around the corner) and I am a planner by nature. It's a long way away but I do like to plan our projects with old age in mind when possible. I want to keep homesteading for as long as possible.

The Slovenian solution is like a luxury condo for bees! A one stop honey factory. For sure you could heat it and feed them easily. I'm assuming you have wild bees that succeed in over-wintering wherever you are Canada. Have you thought about a feral hive capture? At least you know they're tough! ;-) The feral hive I had in NC lost their queen and died so it's not a guarantee.
Good luck,

You know, I have thought about feral hives but I just wouldn't know where to begin or how to find them. I look around but never see any hives. I think it's a bit beyond my talents maybe .... There's a lot to learn! Do you still keep bees? I am following you now, look forward to reading your posts.

Sorry for the delay. I was at a property with no internet!
No bees right now. They require a commitment I can't give them at this point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39