You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🐝 Beekeeping For Everyone! - #9 - Honeybee Nucs - Buyer Beware

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Great post.
I particularly appreciate speaking from experience, not just knowledge. That comes through in your post and I hope others appreciate it too.

Do you have any experience/opinions on top bar hives for non-commercial use?
Oops, never mind. I just found your #8 post.

I also dearly appreciate Michael Bush and his candid comments. ;-)

Sort:  

I have a few years of experience with TBH, in fact I'm the one who came up with the 55 gallon plastic barrel TBH back in 2007 before others claimed it their design.

Since you read #8, you can guess my response. If you want to go TBH, I have had really good experience with Warre hives. The only suggestion I would have is to insulate the walls better. Otherwise the design is excellent.

Michael Bush is a treasure. I also appreciate his candor and ability not to get sucked into debates. I try to do the same, it is OK to agree to disagree on beliefs. I dug up an old pic of Michael, myself and a few others at the first treatment-free beekeeping conference in 2009.
Not sure where you are located, but Michael and I will both be at the Beemaster Beefest 2018 in Sanderson, FL March 23-25. It is a free event and they are always a great time.

I might well see you there. Thanks for the heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41